My Reviews (33)

Lime Marinated Halibut

A great way to prepare halibut - or any firm fleshed white fish - is marinated in lime and herbs. Perfect with mango salsa hot off the barbecue.
Reviews (33)


02 Apr 2001
Reviewed by: MOMTJR
This is one of the best ways of preparing halibut I have ever tried. I only marinated for an hour as the marinade really tenderizes the fish. My family raved about it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: Mabry
I typically don't like fish, but this is a recipe I'll make again. I thought it was a good, very easy, basic recipe. I added 1/2 tsp. sea salt and 1/2 tsp. fresh cracked black pepper to the marinade. Then I put the fish in a Ziploc bag, poured in the marinade, and shook gently to coat. The marinade had a good flavor, but wasn't overpowering, which I liked. Watch the cooking time--be sure that you get the center of the fish to at least 145 degrees. We had our gas grill preheated to medium heat and it took us about 8 minutes per side.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Apr 2003
Reviewed by: Amy Lawler
I consider this a 'safe' recipe. No raves, no boos. If I make this again, I will use salt. This recipe lacks zest. I am not sure what spices it needs, but it needs something to liven it up.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Dec 2001
Reviewed by: schmerna
Made this with broild salmon and topped with pineapple salsa. Excellent
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Feb 2000
Reviewed by: samsb2000
Salmon and Orange Roughy can be used in place of Halibut. Mango Salsa is excellent with this.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: What a Dish!
This was just ok for me. I was really surprised, because I love grilled fish and I love lime juice and herbs. It was the first time I've made halibut at home, and I think I will stick with salmon.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: JOPFEUFFER
Very tasty, nice light flavor. Will make it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Jul 2013
Reviewed by: Jimbo357
As-is, the recipe could be bland, as others have mentioned, since it has no salt and pepper. Unless you're on a very restricted diet, do yourself a favor and add a bit of each to taste. Halibut is a very light fish anyway so benefits greatly from a little seasoning. (To paraphrase Emeril LaGasse: "You have to season the fish, because it won't season itself.") You can even use a bit of seafood seasoning such as Chef Paul's (yummy stuff). Another minor variation I've enjoyed: reduce the oregano and thyme by half, and add 1/4 tsp. dill. Finally, it doesn't need a long marinate time; I use 30 min and it's great (with the adjustments above).
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: Kay
loved this, thought that it might be a little to Italian for the fish but was pleasantly surprised
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: Karen
We changed it up alittle bit. Let the halibut stay in lime juice for 5-6 hours total. Also I just put in my herb garden...we live in California so fresh is the way to go on herbs! Big difference. Loved it with a nice Chardonnay from Napa. Keeper for sure!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes