My Reviews (44)

Pork Stuffed Capsicums

This is a recipe for wonderful pork-stuffed capsicums, and it's actually even better served cold than hot. A great winter meal.
Reviews (44)


Comment:
27 Sep 2012
chloeben said:
What an inaccurate recipe, there is no way that these quantities will fill 8 large capsicums. 250g of mince and 1/2 a cup of rice........... i don't think so!! As for the taste, not nice until I added worstershire sauce, vegetta, and chicken stock plus garlic, what a dissapointment, will never cook this again.
 
06 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: ITSYCOOK
These came out great: with some modifications. I've made them twice, both times just with red bell peppers (I prefer them) and added garlic and onions to the meat mix. Instead of just pork, I used a 1/2 beef 1/2 pork mixture. I increased the amount of feta by a bit (also by preference) and the 2nd time I was out of raisins so I used dried cranberries and they came out just as tasty. I also found it didn't fill as many peppers as the recipe indicated, so I cut off the tops of the peppers, piled the little extra on each of the tops, covered them in foil and baked them as well for anyone who wanted a bit of seconds. I left the foil on till the last 5 minutes and increased the cooking time by about 10 min to get the peppers softer. They came out great, and I will certainly be making them again with the changes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: Gwenfron
I didn't have white wine but tried this with red and it turned out lovely! I made more than we could eat so tried freezing some for left overs but the frozen ones came out watery.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: AlyssainOregon
Wow! I really don't normally like stuffed peppers, but my husband does so I decided to give these a try. Yum! I increased the meat to 1 lb., and only used 1 onion. I thought the raisins were going to taste strange, but they really made this dish delicious! I did add a little more rice, maybe a total of 3/4 c. and next time I want to try it with brown rice. Highly recommend this recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Oct 2005
Reviewed by: Aspiring Chef Rita
The best stuffed peppers we've ever had. The raisins and feta cheese were wonderful in it. I only used two large peppers so I cut the ingredients in half (for 4) and found that it only filled my two large peppers. And that was also with my keeping the pork at 1/2 lb. rather than cutting it to 1/4. I also used the full 10 oz. of tomato sauce (didn't have puree - it turned out fine). Maybe my peppers were "very" large - but that is something to keep in mind when you are preparing it. Thanks submitter.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: Jaqueline Bush
Nice, but a little bland, needs garlic, maybe some oregano or rosemary. This was relatively simple to make, and would work well for parties, as once they are in the oven, nothing more needs doing for 40 minutes! I used minced beef instead of pork and used organic red peppers (I find green too bitter) and added a clove of garlic to the meat. The measurements on this recipe seem to be a bit out - I measured for 2 medium size peppers, then quickly prepared a third! (and had some mixture left over). Peppers stayed firm. Next time I will cook for extra 10 mins, toast the pine nuts and add herbs and few more raisins.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Aug 2008
Reviewed by: CHRISTEL2003
These were delicious! My changes were made by what I had on hand. 1 lb. ground pork, 8 oz. tomato paste,1/2 cup wine,1/4 cup pine nuts ,1/4 cup raisins,1 T.greek seasoning, 1 t. garlic powder, 1 cup rice. The rest stays the same. I was leary of the raisins but they were good in this. Served with fried eggplant.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Oct 2012
Reviewed by: susiecooks
Easy to make and REALLy tasty. I put more minced pork, feta cheese and rice in it, about half as much again(and freeze any left over), and also add chopped fresh mint which gave it a lovely fresh flavour. A family favourite already.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
15 Dec 2011
Reviewed by: dpatsos
The green peppers didn't cook; at 350 the inside of the stuffing was not even hot after 30 minutes! I would recommend putting a tight fitting lid on a casserole or dutch oven- foil is not enough. Also increasing the temperature and the time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: Gail
I knew this would be a great recipe as soon as I read it. I used grass-fed ground beef and basmati brown rice instead. I cooked the rice in some vegie broth that I had made from the pulp left over after juicing carrots and celery. I also added a cloved of minced garlic to the broth. I also used this broth in place of the wine (because I didn't feel like opening a bottle). I used golden raisins and cooked them with the rice so that they would be nice and plump. I toasted the pine nuts before adding to the mixture and I also added a handful of fresh chopped oregano, margoram, and mint. I had a little bit of leftover homemade marinara sauce so I used that in place of the tomato puree and I also had a bunch of overripe cherry tomatoes from my garden so I chopped those up and added them. I omitted the feta because I didnt have any even though I know that this is an important ingredient for the flavor. I thought the recipe was still delicious even without the feta. I did think about adding some greek olives for the extras salty flavor instead of the feta but maybe next time. I think I will use ground lamb next time too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes