My Reviews (10)

Mediterranean Lasagne

Here's a different take on lasagne - chicken instead of beef, feta instead of mozzarella, and the addition of spinach and black olives.
Reviews (10)


12 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: David
Wow.. my wife made this for me last night and it was outstanding! I could not get enough. It my be my new favorite Allrecipes.com meal.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: Lidco
This was tasty with a good combination of Greeek flavors but lacked a chohesive sauce or binder that I associated with Lasagna. I would have served it more as a sauted dish than a baked dish. I cooked thec chicke first and then de glazed the pan before adding the onions/garlic, etc. I also added a can of artichoke hearts which was a nice addition. It made alot and will have plenty of left overs which is good. I don't know if I will make this again though.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: Ginny Steward
I made this tonight, and was kind of confused as to how long to bake it. The prep time says one hour, the recipe itself says 1/2 hour. I split the difference and baked it about 45 minutes. I really like the taste of this...I will definately make it again. I tweaked it a little, since I'm a novice, and basically a convenience cook. I used a 10 oz pkg. of frozen chopped spinach (thawed), I used 1.5 tsp of chopped garlic, and my lemon juice came from a bottle :-). It didn't matter, it still tastes great. My fear is that I don't think it will reheat well. I think it will be dry. So I need to figure out what I can add to this to make it a little more moist. All in all, a great, lighter pasta dish. If you don't like a heavy sauce with your pasta, this one's for you!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: Natty
It was ok, didn't have enough cheese... Found it wasn't to flavorful, added some dressing made it a bit better. don't think I will make again
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Jun 2012
Reviewed by: Creative Chris
This recipe is fantastic, both for taste (if you tweak it with herbs/spices) and versatility. Other reviewers have commented on it being "bland" - I just add oregano, salt, pepper to taste, and a pinch of dried parsley. Most of the time I make this with spaghetti squash instead of noodles because I can't have wheat pasta and I'm too lazy to make several batches of noodles. It's phenomenal with the squash, though! Here's what I do with the squash: use a pre-cooked 3-lb spaghetti squash, and cut the spinach and olives back to almost half, and cut back a little on the feta, but I tend not to measure that part. Then I cook just enough to re-heat everything. (of course, cutting back on some of the amounts tends to produce less servings overall - oh well; guess that's what I get for not using wheat-based noodles). Thanks for sharing this recipe, and hope my changes inspire rather than offend.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Dec 2011
Reviewed by: FieldGreens
My boys and husband loved it. Made some modifications; didn't add the olives (sounded to salty), used a defrosted and squeezed box of frozen spinach, a can of Italian seasoned stewed tomatoes instead of lemon juice and ground chicken. I think I'll try adding some pine nuts next time too. Was craving pasta and had to find a recipe that didn't call for cow dairy due to son's allergy and this fit the bill.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Mar 2015
Reviewed by: fgcosmi
I couldn't find that pasta at my supermarket so I used campanella instead. I also added artichoke hearts like the one review suggested and extra lemon juice and olive oil. It was good. Next time I might just leave the chicken out.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 May 2013
Reviewed by: mom2three
Tried this exactly as written and it was just ok... it seemed to be missing something. I love olives and feta but the rest of the family wasn't too keen on it so don't think we will be making this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Sep 2012
Reviewed by: Meatball of power
This is totally delicious! This is not anything like lasagna. It has a very light sauce, one that you would expect from a light summer meal. I would use less pasta next time. I wished there was more of the "good stuff" on every forkful, so I would maybe only use 3/4 of the box instead of the whole thing. I will also add toasted pine nuts next time! Yum! I also used tomato and basil feta cheese for more flavor. Update: made it again with 1/2 a box of Bowtie noodles and it is AWESOME!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Feb 2019
Reviewed by: Teresa Zarifis
Everybody loved this super easy dish.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes