My Reviews (81)

Muffin Loaf

This is an usual and delicious bread with a texture similar to an English muffin, and just like an English muffin it needs to be toasted to taste right.
Reviews (81)


30 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: smitty
i have never tasted such good english muffin bread...followed the instructions for bread machine dough cycle then formed it into a french loaf type loaf ... let it rise for 40 mins and baked in 325 oven for 25 minutes...it rose even more when baking and it is so lite and fluffy and tasty...i sprinkled cornmeal on the baking sheet before i put the dough on it...man oh man...a new fave bread recipe... thanks grandma!!!update...since i REALLY like this bread and make it often i thought i would try and make english muffins from the dough and am i glad i did...i rolled the dough to about 1/4 - 1/2 inch thick and let it rest covered for about 10 minutes, then cut out six 3 1/2 inch circles and placed them on parchment sprinkled with cornmeal...rolled up the rest of the dough into a little loaf and put it in my small loaf pan...i put into the oven with the light on and let rise for about 1/2 hour...baked the muffins in the oven at 350 for about 8 minutes and flipped over and baked the second side the same...they also rose abit more while baking...and the little loaf of bread i baked at 350 for about 20 minutes...well am i glad i did that...the BEST english muffins i have ever made...THEY EVEN HAD NOOKS AND CRANNIES and were lite on the inside and a bit chewy on the outside...just as we like them...and the little loaf of bread turned out like the others i made from this recipe...THANKS SO MUCH AGAIN for this recipe...really no need for me to try any others!!!! june 26th...i subbed bu
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 May 2000
Reviewed by: SUSIE-CHAPSTICK
I made the bread in the machine & then shaped it & put it in 2, 11.5oz coffee cans that were well greased and coated with cornmeal. Covered & let rise about an hour & 10mins. Baked at 400- 35 to 40 mins. Stephanie is right..toasted it's PRIMO !!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: Tanaquil
I thought I had reviewed this bread. My 7yo and I love this recipe, it makes awesome bread. I wouldn't change a thing, execpt to bake in greased coffee cans. Have made many times, a true classic. Thanks Stephanie's Grandma! Origianl review: Lovely bread! I used a coffee can to make part of this, and I loved how the bread came out---the ridges on the coffee can made perfect slicing marks. I also make a regular loaf in addition to the coffee can loaf. (see posted photo)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Oct 2001
Reviewed by: Stephanie Knewasser
This is in response to Reviewer Selea. This is Stephanie, this is my recipe & my photo. I baked the bread in a large greased & floured CAN, as I said my grandmother used to do. When it was cool, I sliced & toasted it. It's bread, just baked in a can instead of a traditional bread pan.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: LESLIE SMITH
This is a fabulous recipe! It is so easy and delicious. Last year I made it to give to friends and neighbors with a small jar of jam (and directions to toast) for a holiday gift. I can't emphasize enough to toast and butter each slice. It is so good!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Jun 2000
Reviewed by: HOMEGAL
This is the only bread I make now. Instead of making two loaves, I use one 9x5 bread pan and often times I leave out the cornmeal. It turns out wonderful every time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: KEZ
I forgot to buy English muffins this week. I knew I'd seen recipes on this site for English Muffin Bread so I looked them up. I chose this one as friends from the Quality Cook had made it and rated it well. I can see why this was excellent. I greased the loaf pans and coated them in cornflour. Neither my husband or daughter could believe how much like English muffins this was. Thanks Stephanie's Grandma.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Jul 2005
Reviewed by: SELEA
English Muffin Bread is always tasty and wonderful! The recipe specifies bread pans, the picture shows English Muffins, not bread baked in loaf pans.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Jun 2004
Reviewed by: DRUMMRGRL21
This bread was just delicious! I made it for my family and they loved it! It tastes just like bakery fresh english muffins and it was easy to make and clean up after. Thanks for sharing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Feb 2012
Reviewed by: chicaD
I stuffed the dough 2/3 the way up a can and it puffed up much higher when it was done raising/cooking. Next time I'll do just over half full. Other than figuring that out, it was really great. I loved the ease (I usually do regular ones...good but much more time-consuming.) and the flavor was really great. I had plenty of holes for my butter to melt into. =)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes