My Reviews (46)

Peach Custard Tart

This is a very simple recipe for a deliciously gooey peach custard tart. Can be made all year with tinned peaches. Delicious hot with ice cream or alone cold.
Reviews (46)


14 Jan 2013
Reviewed by: chrissa
Thank you, my family loved this. I used a tin of sliced peaches, with the juice drained off
 
03 Aug 2005
Reviewed by: JAN
I lost my 40 year plus peach kuchen recipe, this is identical to mine except my old recipe called for sour cream in place of whipping cream. I use lite sour cream and fresh nutmeg on top. Sour cream gives it a wonderful flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: Holly Rader
I would have added cinnamon and more butter to the crust and sliced the peaches rather than halve them. Otherwise, this was very good. *Tip- to peel peaches, dip them in boiling water for 30-60 seconds then dunk in ice cold water then peel. Very easy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: Chelsey Wolnowski
Best recipe ever!!! My dad raves about this dessert. It just so decadent! The only thing I change is, I use 1/4 cup of the sugar in the crust, and then I use only about 1/2 cup of sugar in with the whipping cream mixture. So rich and creamy and yummy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: A. Stratton
This was a nice change of pace as far as peach desserts are concerned. My husband and I really enjoyed it, though I plan on making these adjustments in the future: Instead of sprinkling the peaches with the sugar and cinnamon, I will mix these into the custard. The custard, though delicious, needs that bit of sweetness in my opinion. I also added a bit of nutmeg, as I feel all custards should have a bit of nutmeg. I made this recipe in a springform pan, and it turned out wonderfully!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Sep 2004
Reviewed by: suzanne
This was delicious. I'm sure the recipe is great as is but I made two additions . I used a cup and a half of flour and a half cup of ground almonds in the crust and I added 3 tbsp.of chopped lemon verbena to the cream mix...I used 10% coffee cream and it came out fine.Used a large flan pan. Thanks for a simple but lovely desert.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Aug 2008
Reviewed by: Kaye Lynn
This is wonderful. I made a few changes: I put 1/2 cup sugar in the crust, the other 1/2 cup I mixed in the cream/egg mixture. I sprinkled a little sugar on the peaches as well. I used an extra egg yolk because my eggs were small. I made the mistake of baking mine for 40 minutes. Don't do it, the crust is too hard. The 30 minute option would have been perfect. Also, I sliced my peaches so they would cover the crust well. This is so good!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Sep 2004
Reviewed by: CHEEREEO
This was delicious. I doubled it to make two since I had so many peaches to use. Also, I had trouble peeling my peaches after boiling, so I boiled them and when I found I couldn't get the peel off, I just cut them into segments and also added in a half pint of blueberries to each with the peaches and it came out delicious. I'm sure the top would have looked prettier using halves, but it tasted wonderful. My boss at worked called it "the best dessert I made yet."
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Apr 2006
Reviewed by: JT
My neighbor use to make this when I was a child. This is perfect, just the way I remember it! The only change I made was I changed the cream to be half sour cream and half cream. I remember my neighbor using sour cream when she made it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 May 2009
Reviewed by: chellebelle
I picked this recipe because I had some whipping cream that needed used up and I had all the rest of the ingredients. One of my guests told my husband "If you weren't married to her, I'd marry her just for this dessert!" but I was on the fence about it when I tried it the day it was made (as recommended, still warm, an hour or so out of the oven). I felt like it was super sweet and the crust was a little dry. However, when I tried it the next day I really enjoyed it. The sweetness of the fruit layer blended more with the crust and the custard. The crust absorbed a little of the moisture of the top layers too, and it was very yummy. I used frozen sliced peaches and they worked great, they were done just right with the suggested cooking time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes