My Reviews (56)

Cider Vinegar BBQ Sauce

Try this amazing sweet and spicy barbecue sauce, and don't be put off by the long list of ingredients. It's perfect with pork ribs or chicken wings.
Reviews (56)


25 Apr 2006
Reviewed by: Michelle
I have made this sauce twice now, and everyone loves it! It is perfect for ribs. If you add a tablespoon of honey it will be that much better. Also, throw a few drops of hot sauce in. This is truly a great recipe and I highly recommend it. I have even given a few bottles out as gifts! You will not be disappointed.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: Julie
This is the real deal. Once you've made up a batch of this sauce you'll never go back to that artificially flavored, high fructose corn syrup sold in supermarkets labled as Bar-B-Que Sauce.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Jun 2006
Reviewed by: hen&chicks
The name of the BBQ sauce and the various sweeteners used attracted me to this recipe. It is a wonderful sauce. The longish list of ingredients needed put any cook off. The time spent is worth it. They blend wonderfully. I poured this sauce over drumsticks which I baked. The whole family loved them. Usually my guys prefer white meat over dark but I haven't seen drumskins get eaten so fast as when I used this recipe. Thanks Grampa Dave!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: fourpiesmama
This is an excellent base recipe, however it is VERY sweet. I have made it omitting the maple syrup and brown sugar and only using about 1/2 of the molasses that are called for (it's still plenty sweet from the ketchup and OJ). I really like the use of citrus for the acid it gives the sauce and the onion and garlic round out the flavors. I also have found that a tsp of chili powder is a nice addition. thanks, Grampa Dave!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 May 2007
Reviewed by: jstoll
Outstanding! I've already made two batches of this BBQ sauce and my family agrees it's just great. I followed the recipe exactly on the 1st batch and found it had a wonderful lemon tang to it once cooked. At first I worried it might be too citrus for our likes ... but I was wrong. The citrus tang settled down perfectly once it was added to the meats. Try this on chicken thighs cooked on your outdoor grill. Great!!! Today we added it to pulled pork sandwiches (using Sarge's EZ pulled pork recipe on this site) and once again - everyone kept commenting on it. My 2nd batch I tinkered by adding a teaspoon of liquid smoke. Though it gave it a little more depth and changed the complexity slightly, our family seemed to prefer it without (we tried them side by side). Just wanted to tell you we thought it was a definite HOME RUN!!! Thanks for sharing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: BoxerMom
Wow! Thanks for sharing. I think I will add a tablespoon of chili paste or some chipotle peppers to give it some heat and blend it in a blender to mop on the ribs.....but what a difference in taste compared to bottled sauce! It's like an explosion of flavor in the mouth. Such depth and complexity. My only warning is to be careful about grilling. The sugars quickly catch on fire on the grill....add at the last moment or even after the ribs come off the grill. Oh...and don't try to half the sauce (I did by mistake). The thickness will be off.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Dec 2004
Reviewed by: David Dominianni
You'd be doing your taste buds a dis-service by not trying this sauce. I promise you!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Sep 2007
Reviewed by: WaxApple
this is so delicious.I didn't change anything from the recipe, followed the exact instructions. This bbq sauce was a hit. I think the bbq sauce was more popular then the meats. I had make another pot of it for the rest of the bbq meat. It seems hard to make with all these different spices and liquids but its well worth it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: Kat
Oh so delicious, use to baste, for pulled pork sandwiches, delicious! Texans just now how to treat their barbecue! Maybe add some smoke flavor and it'll be perfect!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: docswife
Yummy. Husband is a fan of the spicy sauce and thought this was a tad on the sweet side. I added some extra spice to his and left the kids alone. Everyone was pleased with this sauce. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes