My Reviews (25)

Do-It-Yourself Microwave Popcorn

You don't have to buy microwave popcorn! I keep a jar of popcorn kernels and a small bottle of fancy olive oil in my office.
Reviews (25)


19 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: Mari Ann Cook
Great Snack!! Important Note: For those of you who live in communities that also have bugs (roaches), PLEASE use purchased brown paper bags that come in sealed plastic wrap. Most grocerey stores and markets use chemically treated (pesticides) bags in packing groceries to ward off roachs. You do NOT want to cook you popcorn in these treated bags!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: Jillian
OMG - What a great recipe! This is so simple and so easy yet tastes so good! I've tried it with the olive oil (a little melted butter works great too), just watch your microwave times as everyone's microwaves are different. The possibilites are endless in terms of seasonings you can but on top - I've also kept it simple and light and just used butter spray! This is a great snack especially when you just want a little something to munch on... Definitely won't be going back to the pre-packaged stuff, sorry Mr. Redenbacher!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: hertzen
Yes, this is less expensive and healthier than the premade microwave popcorn bags and uses less oil than if popping on the stove. With this paper bag method you must be take care with the details & pay attention, in order to get a good final product and for safety. This paper bag method is best for small batches only, 1-2 servings. Use the brown paper lunch bags that come in a pack of 50-100 or so. Fold the 2 open ends together and over 2-3 times, make two little vertical tears in the folded portion, to create a small tab. Fold the tab over and this helps keep the bag closed. Watch the popping carefully the first few times, till you get the hang of the amount of time needed, the power of your microwave, etc. Once the popping slows to near stop, stop cooking immediately or it will burn or could start a fire. Some kernels will remain unpopped. Longer cooking may pop the rest, but will burn some of the already-popped kernels, so it is not recommended. Use caution when opening the finished bag as the hot steam can cause burns. Children should always be supervised by adults for this paper bag cooking method. I pour the popped corn into a bowl, drizzle with oil, sprinkle with salt, and then mix around. Garlic olive oil and finely grated parmesan cheese is a tasty topping.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: Mimi
So yummy! Classic way to prepare homemade popcorn! I just added lots of butter (I'm crazy for buttered popcorn) and there! Simply delicious. I also love how this recipe has olive oil instead of vegetable oil. Olive oil has such a nice flavor and adds GREAT to the popcorn!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: Linda(LMT)
No mess ... very economical to make and bags can be reused at least one other time depending what you add or don't add to your popcorn ... much healthier than commericial microwave popcorn because there are no artificial ingredients and the size was just right for a snack. Without any seasoning it taste like air-popped corn. I used a 10x5 brown bag and it was perfect. You have to be cautious when judging the time because you don't want to burn the popcorn that has already popped but you don't want too many "old maids" left behind. Every microwave is a little different but once you know your microwave's time it's a cinch!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: JUMAHA
I haven't tried the microwave technique yet so my rating is just for the olive oil/salt topping. It was a tasty, healthy alternative to butter. I'll use this regularly from now on.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: Dani
This is a fantastic! The seasoning possibilities are endless: chilli powder, paprika, black pepper, lemon pepper, finely ground dill, whatever you like! The olive makes the flavour much richer and sophisticated than the microwave popcorn you purchase from the store.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: twilson
This is the only way to cook popcorn! It is quick, easy, healthy and delicious.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: Sheila
This works very well without the oil - just put popcorn in the bag and microwave it. A little spray butter and a shake of kettle corn seasoning!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: Michelle
The BEST popcorn ever....I thought this was to simple to be true!! Still can't believe. Kids loved it with olive oil too. Made the salt stick to it
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes