My Reviews (19)

Real Baked Macaroni and Cheese

If you've never made real oven baked macaroni and cheese, I urge you to give this a try. It's a little more work but the results are fantastic.
Reviews (19)


20 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: Jennifer
Dianne, thank you!!! My husband and I really enjoyed this dish. I scaled it back to 4 servings and still filled a large casserole dish. I made a few changes, and it was excellent: cornstarch instead of flour/butter roux, cayenne powder instead of red pepper flakes, Italian-seasoned bread crumbs instead of plain, fat-free evaporated milk and fat-free sour cream, and sprayed the top of the casserole with non-stick cooking spray instead of dotting with butter. After it baked for 30 minutes, I switched to broil on Low for a couple minutes to brown the topping and make it crispy. I will be making this again for Christmas eve, but with 8 servings this time for the family. THANK YOU AGAIN!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: Hallie Wolford
Very good. The kids liked it and the men did too. It took me a while to make it though. I had to boil and then mash the sweet potatoes. I would make it again and recommend it to others.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: Domestic DIY
This was very good, but the kids didn't accept the topping as well as I'd hoped. The littlest ones seemed to discern in between the "good" and "bad" parts, but I thought it was good. Definitely made me feel better about eating so much cheese. I will make this again very soon, but I will probably change up the topping a little.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: sueb
Mild and mellow! Great when served warm, just as good cold! This was a hit with my family. I used whole wheat macaroni and flour, and all sharp cheese when making this.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: cutie_pi<3
This is a very good recipe. Great Recipe`
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: slowcookerdiva
This recipe was delicious and even my very picky husband who hates sweet potatoes and saw me preparing one just for this recipe loved it! You can't taste the sweet potatoes or chickpeas. It's just mac and cheese with the nutrients you get from the chickpeas and sweet potatoes! I must say though, that the prep time took me much longer than 25 minutes because I had to make the mashed sweet potatoes prior to everything else. Also, I ran into a scalding issue with the evap. milk and roux. That wasn't really a problem in the recipe. More a problem with the clean up. The entire recipe from beginning-end took me about 2.5 hours, and I'd consider myself an intermediate cook. This recipe also made a ton of leftovers! We didn't have a 9x13 pan, so I improvised and used 2 9inch pie pans. Worked just as well and my husband liked how I just cut our mac and cheese portions into pizza-shaped triangles. Yes, he's a 10 year old trapped in a 30 year old's body. But I love the man. Try this recipe! Also, I recommend adding more salt to the evaporated milk/roux mixture. The mac and cheese wasn't very salty, but the cheese really packs a punch!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 May 2012
Reviewed by: Kim Giaquinto Cox
Great recipe. My husband does NOT like chick peas and found the recipe printed out on the kitchen table. However, for anyone dubious about them, you cannot even taste them, so DO NOT let that stop you from making this very yummy dish. I followed the directions exactly and used portion sizes of 1/16, which was PLENTY to eat. I can't imagine eating more for a single serving. I portioned it all out and am going to freeze my pieces to save as a Friday night treat instead of pizza. My husband, however, LOVED it and wants to eat his until it's all gone. : ) Thanks so much for sharing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Feb 2012
Reviewed by: Kallie-Jo
I liked this recipe, but not a lot. The sweet potato and garbanzo beans made it very filling and it was a good cheap meal. (I substituted the random cheese I had on hand(Mexi-cheese and Mozzarella) so I didn't have to go out and buy the cheddar) The flavor may have been a bit better if I used the cheddar according to the recipe. I'll probably try this one again! Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Nov 2013
Reviewed by: jjac02
Really liked this recipe--my picky toddler even ate it. I did feel like it needed a greater depth of flavor, though. Next time I'll add mustard to the sauce & may consider adding a small amount of some smoked cheese (e.g., gouda) to give it a bit more of a kick. I left off the chick pea topping based on other reviews & it was still delicious. I may also try adding more sweet potatoes to the sauce & cauliflower to the noodles to make it slightly healthier. Will definitely be making again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Apr 2013
Reviewed by: Lynee`
REALLY enjoyed this! We were looking for a healthier alternative to my 4 sons' beloved Mac & Cheese and we were surprised that everyone liked this so much! It is a bit labor-intensive, so next time I make it, I think put a few together for the freezer. I think it would re-heat nicely. Nice recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes