My Reviews (30)

Cheese and Herb Gluten Free Pizza Base

Gluten free pizza will be enjoyed by all with this easy and delicious gluten free pizza base. Flavoured with herbs and Parmesan, it is a tasty foundation on which to build your favourite pizza!
Reviews (30)


17 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: GOOBERPIE
Very good recipe. I used rice flour instead of garbanzo bean flour. I'm not a big fan of the garbanzo flour's nutty flavor and grittiness. Also skipped the sugar in the wet mixture because I was afraid it would be too sweet for our tastes. My 7 year old said it was the best GF pizza I've made so far. I used parchment paper on the pan to avoid sticking and only baked at 420 (per needs of paper). Worked great! Note to the cook who said the dough was gooey. GF doughs aren't like other bread doughs. They can't usually be kneaded and their consistency is usually between cake batter and cookie dough.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Rene Peterson
Important to note that the batter is much like pancake batter. Spread it around as such and pre-bake. Comes out great - all the kids asked for more cheese pizza and no one guessed it was gluten-free.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: Amie
Fantastic - made 6 personal pizza crusts for my daughter, and they were her favorite gf crusts so far. Like most gf recipes, the dough is thin, so I spread the dough onto parchment paper pretty thin (it is kind of like brownie batter constistency) and then prebaked and froze the crusts. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Feb 2012
Reviewed by: greenmama
This crust is amazing! My 5 year old loved it. I took a taste myself and was very happy with the results. If you are new to gluten free baking, please note that this crust will NOT be anything like the same consistency of a wheat pizza crust. As other reviewers have said, it is very gooey. Don't worry though, because once it is baked, it comes out perfect. You can't roll this out with a roller. You have to use your hand to spread it out into the size and shape you want on the cookie sheet. I took another reviewers advise and put it on parchment paper when I baked them, and they just slid right off when they were done...perfect. I made 5 small crusts for my kiddo. I baked them for 15 minutes, let them cool, then froze the remaining 4 in a gallon bag with parchment paper between them to prevent them from sticking together. You definitely want it to bake for ~ 15 minutes before putting the toppings on. My son is allergic to wheat, dairy, and eggs (among other things) so I had to modify the recipe a bit. I just didn't put any kind of cheese in it and it came out fine. In place of the egg, I used my old standby of 1 Tbsp of flaxmeal to 3 Tbsp of warm water (this needs to thicken for ~15 minutes before using). Another option for the egg is Ener-g egg replacer. This is the first time I have made him pizza crusts and I will continue to do so from now on. No more store bought crusts for him. This recipe is soooo much better. I think any wheat eating person will eat it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 May 2012
Reviewed by: GratefulinCali
Great pizza crust recipe. One of the better ones I have tried. I also used white rice flour instead of the bean flour. A lot of people do like bean flour. However, I don't care for the beany taste in my food inless I'm eating Indian food. Anywhoo- for the people who are going to try this remember the dough is more like a batter so spread it. Do not add more gf flour it will weigh more like a brick and chew like one too=) If you are having problems spreading it use a little water on your spatula or fingers that should help.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: Lesley
Great! Kids loved it! We loved it! I was skeptical when I saw the texture before baking, but persisted as I remembered the comments from this blog. SO glad I did! We'll probably make pizza weekly now, at the behest of a very happy gluten-intolerant 4 year-old :-)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: Chelsea Harrisson
I recently tried this recipe; it had a wonderful outcome. I eat gluten free and I am close to someone with a mild form of autism, which also requires a gluten free diet. Both of us enjoyed this very much. There were a few tweaks here and there, but mostly for preferred taste.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: captainkeri
When the dough is done, it is a goopy consistency-not like dough at all. In order to make it like dough (so you can make it into a ball and roll it) I had to add a TON of extra gluten-free all purpose flour. Then I baked it and it is completely flat and heavy. It did not rise at all. I'm guessing the ingredients are mis-proportioned, but I'm not a good enough cook to play around with the recipe to figure out how.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Feb 2012
Reviewed by: lauralanaes
Nice recipe. I am a little bit intimidated by GF recipes as they often have a lot of ingredients that I do not keep on hand and seem complicated to make. This was really pretty easy and turned out really good. I followed the suggestion to use rice flour because it was what I had on hand and it worked well. My husband has recently given up gluten and he loves pizza. We made an extra recipe and froze some of the smaller crusts as well. Another good way to help him stay healthy and not feel like he is missing out too much! Thanks.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Sep 2013
Reviewed by: battgirl6
This crust was really, really good! I hate reviewing when I modify a recipe, but this one is really good, and I think the original recipe is perfect for the methodology! I had to modify it, because I had rice flour and not all purpose gluten free flour, and I had gluten free Bisquick mix on hand. I used the Bisquick in place of the all purpose flour, omitted the xanthan, baking soda, and sugar (the mix has it already), and added an extra 1/8 cup each rice flour and tapioca flour to make up for the missing flour. The general recipe and the method are what is important here. This turned out just delicious; it can be as thick or thin as you like to spread it (I like it thick)! My husband was raving and ate 4 pieces before I told him it was gluten free. Remember to spread the batter carefully, and bake it almost completely before adding toppings and baking again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes