My Reviews (503)

Mini Egg Dumplings

This is a recipe to make mini German dumplings known as spaetzle. The dough is usually passed though a specialized spaetzle maker but you can get the same effect with a wide grater.
Reviews (503)


23 Nov 2017
Reviewed by: LizGanser
Easy to make. Water takes longer to boil than mixing the ingredients. I multiply by 4 or 8 any leftovers get eaten the next day. I leave out the nutmeg.
 
02 Jun 2006
Reviewed by: Amy S.
Great recipe, the flavor is BETTER! than our favorite authentic German restaurant. The nutmeg makes it so good, my family raved. I served this with pot roast in a red wine, mushroom gravy and roasted asparagus. Thanks for sharing this recipe!! **By the way, a Ziptop bag with 4 or 5 small wholes punched with a skewer was a lot easier to handle than the strainer method. The texture was more authentic as well.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: Paula B
These are wonderful. My kids love them. I do not have a Spaetzle maker, so i use a flat cheese grater. The first few times I made these I burned my hand a few times. *** Last time I used two clothespins to secure the grater to the edge of my pot. It worked perfectly!*** No more burns and the preparation went so much quicker.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Aug 2002
Reviewed by: Glenda Schaffer
This recipe was wonderful with our Beef Strogonoff! It was a little tricky to make at first but we got the hang of it fast. One tip is to be careful not to have the strainer/colander too close to the boiling water else it may cook the dough before it goes through - making it a little more difficult.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Mar 2003
Reviewed by: ZOE IN NC
What a yummy recipe! It's super-quick, uber-easy and downright delicious. I found that by using my ricer, we were able to squeeze out the spaetzle in no time at all. With the medium-sized holes, it came out perfect. Since first reading this, I've made it about 5 or 6 times, as we've both gotten pretty tired of potatoes, and am making it tonight, to go with the Authentic Hungarian Goulash, also found on this site. Great recipe, Holly; thanks so much for sharing! Geez, I love this site!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: Cici
This recipe is perfect. I made 4x the amount so we could eat some later on. The nutmeg is a must! I didn't have any white pepper. But oh my - sooo delicious! First time making it. After cooking it, I ran it under cold water (saw that in a review) to keep it hard. After that, sauteed it with pieces of bacon and a dash of onion salt. Mmmm! Thank you!! It went very well with the Cranberry Pork Roast recipe on this site.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: CookingMaMa
I gave it 3 stars because its a great start. I made 2 differant batches. The first one i made it specific to the instuctions. The dough was runny, and the spaetzle came out pretty mushy even after frying. I added almost 2 cups of flour and made a second batch, and WOW what a differance. Spaetzle should be nice and firm, not mushy. The second batch was delish. But instead of nutmeg i used garlic and onion powder to go along with my creamed chicken. Also i boiled it in alted water. Salting the water makes a HUGE differance.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Feb 2002
Reviewed by: ELENASEVAS
This was extremely tasty! It's good with parmesan mixed in as well.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Dec 2003
Reviewed by: JENVEE
In keeping with the New Year's eve Italian family tradition of eating lentils for prosperity,I served slow cooker lentils and sausage (also from All-Recipes) over the spaetzle. It was delicious. Frying the spaetzle with butter is a must. Don't be afraid to use the nutmeg; it gives it a great flavor as it tends to be on the bland side. If you are going to the trouble making the dumplings, at least double the recipe (no need to double the butter though). It is great reheated. I quadrupled it so I'd have enough to serve with my saurbraten in a few days.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: Daniel den Hoed
Delicious. I just wonder if the recipe is really for 6 servings. We had 2 servings out if it. And we needed 2 side dishes to make it a whole meal. Other then that, DELICIOUS. Next time we double the batch
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes