My Reviews (74)

Mango and Sultana Chutney

An excellent chutney for pork or lamb. Mangoes are simmered with sultanas, ginger, onion, garlic and lots of spices. Makes plenty, so be prepared with sterilised jars. Makes great presents as well.
Reviews (74)


29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: TEXASTWIGG
I downsized this recipe to serve 30, you must also downsized cooking times as you can easily overcook. I love chutney with a pork roast, this one is good but not a favourite, I would cut out the allspice or just a pinch as it is a predominate taste in this chutney.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Apple Jacks
FABULOUS!!! I made this for christmas and served it with the Turkey. It's dark brown colour was strange at first but once everyone tried it, it was a HUGE hit. Guests asked to take some home!!! I reduced the recipe to serve 30 but next time I will make a full batch and give it as a gift. This will most likely become a christmas tradition.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: COOKYKAMP
I am a chutney lover, and this is the best of all. It is a wonderful chicken marinade. My favourite way of serving, is on top of cream cheese with crackers. I made this last summer, and gave away as Christmas gifts. Everyone LOVED it! It came out more juicy than I thought. I thought it would thicken as it cooled. Next time I would add more mango.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: CAROLINAC
Although it took some time to make... it was worth the wait!!! I LOVED IT!!!
 
02 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: KIRCHY7
If you prefer a thicker, more fruit preserve-like consistency for your chutney, you can modify the cooking method on this excellent recipe and its blend of flavors as I did: Using the 30 serving size recipe, use all ingredients as measured, except: Adjust sugar to 1/2 cup each white and brown, add 1 TBSP butter to your ingredient list, and try 2 TBSPs each white vinegar and lemon juice (vs. 1/4 cup vinegar). For the cooking method: Set saucepan on medium heat (I used a 2.5 quart Le Creuset saucepan, which heats more evenly than any pan I have used, so medium high will be too high). Melt butter, and add dry spices, stirring with a silicone spatula or spoon, 2 mins. til fragrant. Add all other ingredients (except nuts; you will add them at the end). Stir gently until combined. It will take appr. 10 mins. for the mixture to come to a simmer. Once the simmer has begun, set timer for 60 minutes, and cook, maintaining a gentle but consistent simmer (in my saucepan there were 10 pockets of nickel - size bubble groups across the top). Stir gently with spatula every 5 mins. or so. After 60 mins., turn off the heat and let cool in the saucepan. The chutney will be reduced in volume, and will be the consistency of a fruit preserve. Stir in 1/4 cup chopped slivered almonds or macadamia nuts. Store in air tight container, refrigerate, and enjoy! Great on Wasa crackers with cream cheese, or mixed with diced chicken for a salad!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: CAROL POGIE
I downsized this recipe to serve 30, you must also downsized cooking times as you can easily overcook. I love chutney with a pork roast, this one is good but not a favorite, I would cut out the allspice or just a pinch as it is a predominate taste in this chutney.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Aug 2003
Reviewed by: PATTRICIA
I am a chutney lover, and this is the best of all. It is a wonderful chicken marinade. My favorite way of serving, is on top of cream cheese with triskets. I made this last summer, and gave away as Christmas gifts. Everyone LOVED it! It came out more juicy than I thought. I thought it would thicken as it cooled. Next time I would add more mango.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: hawnhoney33
This was very easy to make and I didn't find the color unappealing. After reading the reviews and others thinking they might have cooked the sugar too much, I cut down the first two intermitent cooking times to about 15 min and then cooked everything a little longer after adding the mango. I cooked it until the mango was almost translucent and had taken on the color of the sauce. I would add more mango next time, it cooks down a little so maybe another half cup if you're doing the 30 serving recipe. The saucy part does thicken as it cools, which was really nice. Overall, this mango chutney smells great and tastes great.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: ChanaLeah
PLEASE, if you scale down the recipe, adjust your cooking time accordingly. Don't make stupid amateur mistakes like me and burn the whole batch. I'm sure it's a good recipe otherwise.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: MKETTERICK
Made this chutney several times & it is excellent. Super on grilled salmon. I never have all the ingredients and it always turns out good! Ground ginger works fine, also dry crushed red pepper works (in small amounts). For something different, try adding pineapple!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes