My Reviews (8)

Rich Chocolate Cherry Sandwich Cake

Chocolate and cherries are a match made in heaven. Make this cake for the someone special in your life on Valentine's Day or their birthday!
Reviews (8)


08 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: Laura
This was an excellent cake -moist delicious and flavorful- however I did make some changes. I added 2 cups of frozen cherries (the grocery store did not have any fresh ones at the time) because I thought this would taste better. Next time I think I will add even more cherries or maybe replace the water/buttermilk with cherry juice to enhance the flavor. I added 1/2 teaspoon of almond extract and 1 1/2 oz of chocolate to the frosting. I also made the frosting with fresh 100% cherry juice so it would have a fresh, rather than canned flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Feb 2004
Reviewed by: Kate82
Why is this recipe being ignored? It is fantastic!! I made this cake for Valentine's day for my husband. It is the first cake from scratch I have ever made, and it was perfect in every way.. The cake was delicious and moist and easy to make. I did add a little more chocolate to the frosting. I decorated the top with cherries..this cake would be beautiful, elegant and tasty enough for any occasion. I've made it many times and there is never a crumb left over!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Aug 2003
Reviewed by: WEALTHYMOM
I have yet to make this cake - however, I havae tasted it. I am a Foods Judge for 4-H and Open Class at county fairs in our area and surrounding areas. A 13 year old 4-Her made this and it was AWESOME! She received a State Fair Purple on it. I asked where she got the recipe and she said here at this site. I am anticipating on making this VERY soon. What a wonderful tasting and eye appealing cake
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: FruitBat
This recipe is a keeper! It's very moist and delicious. The only thing I changed from the original directions was to double the amount of cherries (and I didn't chop finely, I left them kinda chunky). It was fantastic!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: phyllis
This is very similar to a recipe that I had years ago, and then had lost. I was happy to find this. The cake has a rich flavor and great texture.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: Kathy W.
I give it 4 stars because I made some changes. I used butter instead of shortening in the cake batter,and 3/4cup 100% cherry juice in place of the water and a teaspoon of vanilla extract, and 2 cups of frozen cherries in place of the maraschino cherries. When it came to the frosting, I used 100% cherry juice, and used way more than 1/3 cup. I used 4oz instead of 1oz of the chocolate in the frosting, and 1 tsp of vanilla extract in place of the almond. I also had to heat the frosting on top of a double boiler to get it smooth and creamy since it was a disgusting lump when the frosting ingredients were cold. Now for the taste...it was very chocolately and fudgy. Next time I would perhaps add something to make the cake a little moister, but not sure what...maybe applesauce, or a little oil.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Mar 2004
Reviewed by: PACHTON
This cake looked terrible and tasted worse! I followed the recipe EXACTLY and it was very very dry.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Feb 2012
Reviewed by: trahnse
Very yummy cake! Moist and delish! I prefer my cherries coarsely chopped, but otherwise, I made no changes. Will definitely make this one again! Thanks
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes