My Reviews (23)

Snow Pea and Cabbage Salad

This is a very refreshing salad to make in summer when snow peas are in season. Great for barbecues.
Reviews (23)


04 Jul 2005
Reviewed by: MAILBAG
I thought that the dressing for this salad was pretty boring. I added approximately 4T of the rice vinegar, more lemon juice, and around a tsp. of soy sauce. That helped alot! I also sprinkled toasted slived almonds on top when it was served. I also used sweet red peppers instead of the green. Along with the carrots, it was a beautiful salad.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jun 2008
Reviewed by: JenDeatrich
Very good. I agree that the dressing needed something. I substituted one of the Tbsp of oil with sesame oil and added a Tbsp soy sauce and 1-2 Tbsp sugar. I also added some fresh chopped cilantro and used red instead of green pepper. Very good! Great to take to a picnic - no mayonnaise!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Jun 2005
Reviewed by: Luv2CookDinner
I was looking for a low fat version of the traditional Asian salad w/ Ramen noodles and this is it! I only used 3/4 lb cabbage, 1 shredded carrot, etc.; I increased the amount of rice wine vinegar to 3 T while keeping the lemon juice and olive oil the same. I will probably add toasted almonds to make it a meal!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: Caroline C
I agree that the dressing is very bland. I ended up adding about a tsp of sesame oil, some more lemon juice and a little sugar. I also threw in some red bell pepper for more color. Pretty good. I'd make it again with a couple more tweaks. Thanks.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Jul 2004
Reviewed by: FREDDY3
I doubled this recipe for a luau. It was a smash hit! I love snow peas. dpsjes@bellsouth.net
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Jul 2004
Reviewed by: YARNGIRL17
Excellent recipe. The snow peas really make this slaw stand out. I did use more lemon juice and vingar for a bit of extra zip.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: MRSMIKE2003
The dressing was very bland.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Aug 2005
Reviewed by: JDVMD
Easy to prepare but I had to add a lot of things to the dressing to liven it up including sugar. Didn't like it enough to bother making it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: franybanany
The flavors just didn't blend well. Even with suggested additions to the dressing, it was not very tasty.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: VIVNIDHI
I used regular peas as I did not have snow pea.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes