My Reviews (14)

Moist Raisin Cake

The secret to a great raisin cake is to plump up the raisins in boiling water before adding to the batter. This is a great snack for guests with tea or coffee.
Reviews (14)


02 Jun 2000
Reviewed by: JAVY
. Very moist and delicious.I frosted the cake with cinnamon frosting.I feel cooking time is not enough because after 40 minutes the cake was still not done.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: yammuffin
This cake was really yummy & moist. It stayed very moist even after a few days. Everyone in my house loved it - I doubled the walnuts, added 1 tspn. vanilla extract & 1 tspn. walnut extract to the raisin mixture (after cooling). I also substituted margarine for butter because I didn't have any and it was fine.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: STARAJOY
This is our first raisin cake and it was Very Easy & Very Good. We baked ours for 35 minutes , to be super it was super moist and good. Then it wasn't over cooked. When the raisins and water were done boiling i removed them from the heat & put the butter & sugars right into the hot water to melt. I didn't wait for it to cool. Just went ahead and mixed in the flour and other ingredients. We didn't add the nuts. We also sprinkled 10X sugar on top. Came out great, will be making again. Thanks
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: Cristina
I got to give this one a five. It was Super easy and really good. However I did let mine cook for one hour just to be on the safe side of done.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Jun 2009
Reviewed by: VETTY430
WOW!! This is an amazing cake! I was reading through the bible and realized that the food "raisin cake" was mentioned and eaten alot as part of the hebrew tradition. So I was inspired to look for a "raisin cake" recipe. Though I'm sure this is not a traditional hebrew recipe, it sure is delectable!! As another reviewer did, I also made mine in a bundt pan. Incredibly moist, just enough sweetness to it and so very easy to make. Thanks for sharing. I will be making this often.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: healthycooker
I tried this yesterday and it was a big hit. Very easy to make with ingredients that are on hand. Very moist. I used golden raisins( didn't have enough regular ones)ans pecans instead of walnuts. I will definately make this one again. Sweet and moist enough without a glaze
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: Sharon Anne
OMG this cake is to DIE for!!!! Soooo moist and yummy!!!! I used a bundt pan and 1tsp salt and it came out awesome!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Jun 2009
Reviewed by: Azita
This cake turned out delicious! It was very easy to make. I made the cake in a bundt cake pan and it came out perfect! Smells good and tasted even better! Will definitely make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Aug 2014
Reviewed by: ZoeIllingworth
I baked this yesterday, followed the recipe exactly. I thought 950ml of water was a bit much and the cake mixture very sloppy but went with it. After an hour of baking it was still raw, I baked for a further 30mins and still no better. I'm very disappointed as it is such a huge waste of ingredients, but this can't be eaten. In hindsight I should have reduced the water but then again hindsight is a wonderful thing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
03 May 2011
Reviewed by: American
Wonderful! Delicious!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes