My Reviews (10)

Lemon Funnel Cakes

These are delicious deep fried cakes with the taste of pancakes but a crispier puffed up texture. Lemon essence makes this really special.
Reviews (10)


01 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: SPACESPUD
Very delicious! Don't be afraid of the lemon extract, it just adds a delicate touch of flavor to the cakes. I had more batter left over in the fridge and they fried up perfectly the next day. I did not need quite as much oil as the recipe called for.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 May 2009
Well, I've been searching for a perfect funnel cake recipe, and took me a while to get around to trying this one because it only had 4 stars, but this is the BEST funnel cake I've ever made! I used a clean, empty, pancake syrup bottle to squeeze out the funnel cakes easily into the oil. Saw them use that at Knott's Berry Farm actually. Topped with powdered sugar, strawberries (mixed with white sugar), and whipped cream. AMAZING! I'll never be able to spend money on them at theme parks and fairs again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Oct 2003
Reviewed by: MARTIEMCG
We love this at my house. Kinda messy, but worth it. My kids enjoyed seeing what shapes they could make drizzling the batter, but of course I stayed right there (hot oil!) A fun, old fashioned, economical treat. Think I'll make some spider web shaped ones for Halloween! It's easy if you use a squirt bottle for drizzling the batter. It makes thinner strands that way.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: TINA970
I was looking for a simple yet great funnnel cake and I found this... not a crumb left... Family loved them....
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 May 2005
Reviewed by: AAPRINCESS
I just used this recipe for the kids at a Memorial Day cook-out and boy was it a success. Not only for the kids but the parents also, it really took us back to our carnival days. Thank you for a great recipe
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: AveryD
Although my family liked this recipe, I did not care for it. I thought the batter was too sweet. Also, I had to add a bit more milk. For those reasons, I only gave it 3 stars. I may fix it again for my family, probably, I will use a tradtional recipe, though.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 May 2004
Reviewed by: Susan
My family loved this recipe for funnel cakes. We loved the brown sugar that was added.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: Mexchef_pepe_roni
This recipe is excellent, thank you for sharing it will come in handy for thanksgiving. I'm sure the family will love it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: Sirsl
I don't know if I did something wrong but this did not work for me and I was SO excited. Once I got the oil temperature right the batter taste was not good and not light and airy like at the carnivals. Guess that's where I will continue to get them...
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: dorie
This is an excellant receipt very simple
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes