My Reviews (65)

Crunchy Noodle and Cabbage Salad

This is a unique crunchy salad that combines cabbage with broken-up instant noodles. Great flavours and textures. Add some cooked chicken to make it a whole meal.
Reviews (65)


03 Dec 2004
Reviewed by: MKMCDONALD78
always a hit, and easy to make for a large group.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: mermaid
Too much sugar, but otherwise a great salad. I've been making this for several years, but with alot less sugar. Taste before pouring on the salad. Many have complained about having to toast the sesame seeds and almonds. Buy ones that are already toasted. Toasted ones can be found in your Asian section of your supermarket. Toasted almonds can be found with your regular nuts usually with your baking supplies (cake mixes, flours, etc.)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: Emma's Mom
This is a great salad. Rather than waste the dry seasoning packets in the ramen noodles, I add them to the dressing mixture before pouring onto the salad. Gives it a little extra added taste. Sometimes I saute some cut up chicken breasts and add instead of sesame seeds and almonds.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: Patricia Pool Gillogly
I love this, it's very refreshing, not to mention delicious and easy....thanks, I had misplaced the recipe.....
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: Chef4Six
Great salad!!!! High up there with the crunch factor!!!! The dish was licked clean. I made some changes though... I used a mix or 1/2 green and 1/2 purple shredded cabbage. Added thinly sliced orange and bell peppers (just because they were already cut up and hanging out in my fridge). I added about 1 tbsp. of soy sauce to the dressing and decrease the oil from 1/2 cup veg. oil to 1/3 cup olive oil. I love the crunch factor in this salad!!!! Instead of the noodles, I used a handful of almonds, sesame seeds and dry edamame. I will make this again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: Fiona
Try crushing the ramen noodles and toasting them with the nuts (alternately I use sunflower seeds, peanuts or almonds - whatever I have on hand). I also find honey and rice vinegar with sesame oil with a reduced amount of oil make a better dressing. (I use light olive oil instead, just my preference). Baby bok choy is also a good addition, if you want to mix up the veggie content a bit. This recipe lends itself to all sorts of additions, you can't go wrong!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: GrammarDiva
I've had a recipe very similar to this for several years, and everyone loves it. I usually throw in a can of mandarin oranges and use a small amount of the orange juice in the dressing. I also use sunflower seeds in place of the sesame seeds, which I don't care for all that much.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: HOLLY9000
This was really good. I skipped the toasting step and used a bag of coleslaw mix for the cabagge. I used the Ramen seasoning package instead of salt & pepper. I didn't have rice vinegar - I will try that next time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: Sandy
This salad has been around for a few years now with napa cabbage instead of regular cabbage. It is MUCH, MUCH better with the napa cabbage.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: RCFoodie
Salad is great, taste was good too- I just thought that the butter to toast the nuts/seeds in was too much, or even unnecessary, since there is oil in the almonds and seeds as it is. You can just toast them on med-high heat till the almonds "pop" or crackle. I also used 1/2 nappa cabbage, 1/2 regular cabbage. My husband is still eating the leftovers, and thought it was pretty good too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes