My Reviews (82)

Jam Bars

This is a really easy way to make great tasting bars. Try mixing two different jams together like apricot and strawberry or raspberry and blackberry.
Reviews (82)


09 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: trufflebun
After trying these bars many different ways, this is the modified version we liked best: Combine all dry ingredients first, then cut in butter with 2 knives as for pie dough. Press with fingers to form a solid mass. Use seedless fruit only preserves for filling. Bake in an 8X8-inch pan lined with buttered foil. Increase baking time by 5 minutes. Serve with vanilla ice cream. This is our personal favorite, but any way you make them, they're great!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: Alexis T.
This is the 2nd time I've tried this recipe. The first time, they turned out flat,crumbly and the fruit was rubbery. The next time, I doulbed the recipe, used seedless jam, and put about 1-2 tsp of evaporated milk into the oat mixture. It was much easier to press into pan, yet still able to crumble on the top. Much more flavorful. So simple and quick to make I have to keep the recipe!! Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: GARRIDANN
This is our favorite bar cookie. We've tried many types of fruit, and apricot is our favorite. To make a breakfast oatmeal bar, I double everything except the sugar and jam, which makes a bar that is less sweet.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: Diana S.
I really think this recipe works better if you make it in an 8 or 9 inch square pan. If you want to use a 9x13 pan you really need to double the recipe. I doubled it and added 2T. milk and 2t. vanilla as suggested by another reviewer. I cooked 1C. dates, chopped, in 2C. water until thickened and used this as the fruit topping. Sprinkled cinnamon and ground cloves over it and baked as directed. Really great tasting, healthy snack for my family... not too much refined sugar and lots of fiber. Thanks for a keeper recipe
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Jul 2000
Reviewed by: EARTHYVIBES
Excellent and easy recipe. Instead of using jam, you could substitute one cup water and 1/2 cup dates boiled until you get a thick jam like consistancy. That way you don't end up with too much added sugar in the recipe. Also I added a little vanilla and it was great. Thanks for sharing this recipe. :o)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: steph
I found these okay but a little dry. I doubled the butter, melted completely. My favorite filling is an apple butter/applesauce mix with pumpkin spice added (however much you like). I also add about a fourth cup dry oats to the top layer mix and make sort of crumbly.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 May 2006
Reviewed by: beccamt
This recipe is simple and easy to prepare but everyone who tastes these bars is really impressed by them. It's great, especially for someone who is just learning to bake (like me).
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: akdgurl
Very Good! I put the whole recipeon the bottom of the pan them covered in jam. I made a streusel topping or cinnamon, flour, brown sugar and oats and sprinkled on top.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Joanne DeBolt
I made this a year ago, trying to "copy", or should I say, figure out how to make grape bars. I live in the Finger Lakes and also work in vineyards. Anyways, one of my bosses got me hooked on these grape bars, made with concord grapes, a lady in Naples NY makes them and sells them, but I still can't find a recipe for them (I'm sure it's secret) LOL But......I came pretty close when I made grape pie filling on top of stove, then poured on top instead of jam. It was close, but I just read a review (which I'm going to try), that said double the oatmeal recipe and increase time, I think it will work. All and all, though, the base tastes like what I was looking for, ty
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Dec 2000
Reviewed by: MEGCC
Make sure you use high-quality jam at room temperature, or spreading it will be difficult.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes