My Reviews (26)

Chocolate Dipped Bananas

This recipe makes a chocolate-dipped frozen banana dessert that is perfect for a hot day. Play around with the ingredients a little -- you can use almond butter, cashews or whatever sounds good!
Reviews (26)


18 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: Jillian
OMG! My niece went crazy for these and so did the other kids - I guess that's why I now claim the title of favorite Aunt! These are so good and the possibilities are endless in terms of what you stick on these. I added some coconut along with the chopped nuts but the kids loved the assortment of rice krispies, dried fruit, M&M's, and colored sprinkles!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 May 2011
Reviewed by: S
These are so amazing! Didn't have popsicle sticks so I just cut the bananas in 4 pieces each. Dipped in dark chocolate. The chocolate froze too fast to put the nuts (I used cashews) on, so the next time I made it I mixed the chocolate and nuts before dipping banana pieces. Also read somewhere that you should use really ripe bananas, that way the banana flavour is really apparent.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: LINDA MCLEAN
Oh yum! I'm always trying to find healthy desserts for my significant other who every now and then gets a hankering for something sweet. These are SO good and you're right Kelsey, there are so many possibilities to experiment with. For a lighter and more refreshing treat, I also dipped the banana's into yogurt and rolled in a healthy cereal. Guilt free and delicious. Thank you Kelsey!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: HB
I remember having something like this as a kid, and liking it. That's what made me do a search for frozen banana treats. But based on this recipe, I'd have to say I'm not a semisweet chocolate kinda gal. I would try milk chocolate next time. The peanut butter was very messy to apply to the frozen bananas. I'm thinking melting the peanut butter and milk chocolate together might be the way to go. Or using nutella, like others mentioned, would be good. However, they were also very difficult to eat. Admittedly, I didn't have them on popsicle sticks--they were just little chunks of banana. But the frozen bananas were rock solid. I ate a few that way, then tried thawing them for a bit, but then they got all mushy and kinda gross. I guess this isn't the recipe for me. Thanks for sharing. I'm glad others love it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: Babs
I've always wanted to try this. I wouldn't have thought to freeze bananas first, so thanks! I changed it up to make it easier for myself. I used 1/2 a bag of mini baking chocolate chips with 2 tablespoons of crisco shortening. Melt in microwave in 30 seconds, stir and put back in microwave for another 30 seconds at 70%. Just stir until it's all melted. I also cut the banana in quarters rather than half for a quick treat. They were frozen within an hour. FYI..definately use bananas that are still yellow and slightly green. Anything more or less will not have as pleasant a taste or texture.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: kharis
yummy. i had this for the first time several summers ago. I watched a group of kids munch these down with speed. when I tried one myself. ohh did i enjoy it!!!! LOVE THEM. also taste good drizzled in honey and rolled in cereal.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: Sarah Jo
This literally is one of those clean-out-your-cupboards summer treats. You can use any kind of chips, you can use Nutella instead of peanut butter, and you can roll it in just about anything. Nuts, sprinkles, granola, cereal.....the skies the limit! Great treat to make with your kids.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 May 2011
Reviewed by: maddie_271
OH MY GOODNESS! These are amazing! I make them up every other day in the summer and they're gone before I know it! I have condensed the recipie to just slicing an banana, putting a glob of Kraft extra creamy peanutbutter on the top, and freezing but you can get as fancy as you would like! Tastes the best with bananas that have small brown speckles on them! Anyways, I was unsure about freezing bananas and eating them but these are just delicious! Great for a hot summer afternoon! MODIFICATION: try with peanutbutter mixed with honey rolled in crushed dad's oatmeal cookies. It's AMAZING!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: AmyW.
These are terrific. I ended up putting a layer of Nutella over the frozen peanut butter layer (instead of the melted chocolate chips) and sprinkling the bananas with chopped, salted peanuts. I didn't have any sticks so I just wrapped them individually in wax paper. So good!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Jennifer
Yum! Kids and parents loved these. I didn't want to use peanut butter b/c of allergies so I used Nutella, then I realized that it didn't even need the chocolate over. Just bananas and nutella. Really tasty!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes