My Reviews (14)

Squid and Pineapple Stir Fry

This is a wonderfully tangy and sweet Vietnamese stir fry with fresh squid. Be very careful not to overcook the squid or it will be tough.
Reviews (14)


23 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: mklbuff75
Recipe is fantastic. I disagree with a previous review that squid takes forever to clean though - it is very quick and easy. Cut the tentacles off just in front of the eyes. Remove the beak. Slide your finger down the back of the tube and break through the membrane holding the body in the tube. Pull the body and guts out. Slide your finger down under the cartilage and lift up - the cartilage will now come out. Slice the skin with a knife and peel off.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Apr 2001
Reviewed by: SURASA
Taste very good. My husband and I love it. I use pineapple crushed in a can and it still turned out so good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: Mai TLP
I agree this is a very good dish. Remember you can add tomatoes and cubed bell peppers in this dish too and garnish it with cilantro!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Jan 2001
Reviewed by: DAYLEEFLOSSER
pretty yummy, but squid take forever to clean and cut.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Mar 2005
Reviewed by: EFONSY
YUM! I'd never cooked with squid before, so I was a little worried, but this turned out just great! I actually used oyster sauce instead of fish sauce because I had it around. Not fishy tasting at all
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: Jessica
Growing up in a Vietnamese household, I would have to say this dish is very bland. My mom always used tomatoes in this dish. Cut them up into quarters and cook with the celery. I put spring onions in whenever I make this dish. If you don't want to clean the squid, you can buy them already cleaned and cut up if you wanted to. I've gotten them at the Asian supermarkets like that.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: Joe C.
We did not like this at all (I'm American my girlfriend is of Vietnamese decent). A very mild mellow flavor. The flavors didnt blend or meld together well. "Fried" is the wrong term for it. Like another reviewer said, there are better uses for squid. Too much fish sauce also.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: amyclemens1
This was fairly bland, so I added some chili sauce, which kicked it up a bit. All in all, I'm sure I could find a better way to prepare squid. Not horrible, but probably won't make it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 May 2006
Reviewed by: Chuck
This is a Delicacy, The flavors really comeout and it's so good. EXCELLENT EXCELLENT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 STAR RATING *****
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Feb 2012
Reviewed by: rachelereyna
Too fishy! We love squid but the fish sauce killed it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes