My Reviews (86)

Bran Muffins with Apple

Bran muffins are a healthy snack or light work lunch or breakfast. These are sweetened with grated green apple and dark brown sugar.
Reviews (86)


Comment:
29 Sep 2008
JDVMD said:
Used different ingredients. For low fat muffins these are pretty good! I changed a couple of things. I added wholemeal flour instead of regular and added a tsp of cinnamon and a tsp of vanilla. They are NOT sweet, as Jenny already said, so if you want sweeter add more sugar. They end up being 1 point on the weight watchers plan...marvelous!!!
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
Sara said:
Used different ingredients. Delicious and very hearty! I used wholemeal flour, and I also increased the brown sugar to 1/2 cup instead of 1/4 (the weight watchers points is still 1 even with the extra sugar!). They were pleasantly sweet, although I could probably get away with using 1/3 cup. I also added some cinnamon, and used a whole apple chopped with the peel on istead of just a half. The extra amount of apple made these terrific! Next time I think I'll add a pinch of salt. I individually wrapped these and stuck them in my freezer, so I'm interested to see how they hold up! Thanks for a great recipe!
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
PATITO said:
Used different ingredients. Made these several times now and found myself making a few changes. Added 1 tsp vanilla, a pinch of salt, 1 tsp. cinnamon, the other half of the apple, chopped (I used a Granny Smith so it wouldn't disappear into the apple when baked), a 1/2 cup dried cherry, or cranberries. Thanks much for listing this recipe Jenny!!
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
LENA76 said:
Used different ingredients. Low fat and "bran" don't have to mean flavourless, which these were, even though I tried adding more cinnamon as reviewers suggested. I recommend making the "Apple Strudel Muffins" instead, but a) replacing half the flour with oat bran, b) replacing the butter with applesauce, c) cutting the sugar in half, and d) adding a teaspoon of cinnamon. Voila! Low fat apple bran muffins that taste good, unlike these.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: LAMB2LOVE
This recipe gets 5* from me. Low fat and good, two things that are hard to combine. We like these muffins a lot, and they are only 2pts if you are following Weight Watchers.
 
15 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: JANIS
For low fat muffins these are pretty good! I changed a couple of things. I added whole wheat flour instead of regular and added a tsp of cinnamon and a tsp of vanilla. They are NOT sweet, as Jenny already said, so if you want sweeter add more sugar. They end up being 1 point on the weight watchers plan...marvelous!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: DrPuzzle
This is an incredibly good recipe to be low fat!! I used a Braeburn apple and used half whole wheat flour, too, to get the maximum low glycemic benefit. I also always preheat my muffin oven to 500 degrees and then turn to the baking heat when I put them in. Particularly with the whole grain products, this gets them crisp while the leavening has made them fluffy and puffy. People who say this is dry or not sweet enough are probably overcooking them. Using applesauce or vinegar-milk in lieu of apple or buttermilk will also decrease the sweetness tremendously and cause them to be drier.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Sep 2004
Reviewed by: bored99
"Low fat" and "bran" don't have to mean flavorless, which these were, even though I tried adding more cinnamon as reviewers suggested. I recommend making the "Apple Strudel Muffins" instead, but a) replacing half the flour with oat bran, b) replacing the butter with applesauce, c) cutting the sugar in half, and d) adding a teaspoon of cinnamon. Voila! Low fat apple bran muffins that taste good, unlike these.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Feb 2005
Reviewed by: Abigail
Incredibly heavy and satisfying muffins, but the apple gets lost along the way. Here's my improvements: I add 1/3 cup flax seeds, 1/2 cup rolled oats, 1 cup diced apple, and substitute 3/4 cup applesauce for grated apple. A family favorite!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jan 2004
Reviewed by: THERESA_M
Delicious and very hearty! I used whole wheat flour, and I also increased the brown sugar to 1/2 cup instead of 1/4 (the weight watchers points is still 1 even with the extra sugar!). They were pleasantly sweet, although I could probably get away with using 1/3 cup. I also added some cinnamon, and used a whole apple chopped with the peel on istead of just a half. The extra amount of apple made these terrific! Next time I think I'll add a pinch of salt. I individually wrapped these and stuck them in my freezer, so I'm interested to see how they hold up! Thanks for a great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes