My Reviews (36)

Roast Tomato Tortellini

This is a very piquant and fresh tomato pasta sauce for tortellini. Perfect for making when you have a bumper crop of tomatoes!
Reviews (36)


12 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: grifdogg
Great Recipe - Place tomatoes, oil, oregano, salt and pepper in a zip lock bag to coat tomatoes - much easier and not as messy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Jul 2012
Reviewed by: Sarah Jo
I took MinnesotaGirl's lead and roasted a medium zucchini with the tomatoes. I did have to increase the EVOO for the roasting by an additional two tablespoons. Other than that, I kept to the recipe. This pasta dish is WONDERFUL. I wanted a meatless meal for this week--I'll tell you, we didn't even miss the meat! I served this with buttered crusty italian bread and it was a filling and delicious meal.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: Minnesota_Girl
Great way to use up those grape and cherry tomatoes (had an entire shoe box full)! I find that using a potato masher works well to break up the tomatoes. I also roasted a zucchini and threw it in because it needed to cooked. Used fresh herbs from the garden and a healthy shake of red pepper flakes because we like a lot of spice - highly adaptable to suit your tastes. Thanks for sharing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jul 2013
Reviewed by: Lady Sam
What a great recipe idea but I changed it so much I'm not sure which recipe I'm rating. I used the plastic bag trick suggested by another reviewer and added about a half of a sweet onion quartered. Then put it all on a roasting pan lined in parchment paper. They roasted for 20 minutes with a turn about halfway thru. I sautéed 3 garlic cloves in olive oil and added some fresh pesto spiced with red pepper. When the tomatoes were done, i just funneled the parchment paper and poured it all in the pan with the garlic. After boiling pasta, I added a good splash, maybe a half cup, of the pasta water to the mix. Easy, fast and a good way to use all the tomatoes. Next time I think I will roast a red pepper along with the tomatoes and onions and then throw it all in a food processer and make a smooth sauce.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Aug 2013
Reviewed by: BRANGIE
What a great recipe! I did change/add the following and it was simply outstanding!!! I doubled it, and purchased the 19oz bag of frozen Tortellini from the freezer section as it was WAY more affordable. I added zucchini, a yellow pepper and red onion to the tomato in the oven and threw all veggies in a bag and added oil and spices that way (easier, and you use less oil). Save some of the pasta water to add to the entire mixture if it's a little too dry, and then top with a quick splash of quality EVOO, sea salt, crushed red pepper flakes and crumbled goat cheese.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Jul 2013
Reviewed by: Julia O'Brien Gaffney
Wow!!! I made this for my mother yesterday who loves everything authentic Italian. She has been to Italy many times and she said this was the way the Italians ate. Light with not too much sauce. I have to say, I will make this many times in the future. I felt like it was truly the delicious taste of a great chef. Wow!!!! I didn't change anything except I didn't have spicy pesto so I just added some cayenne pepper to the pesto. It was all good!!! SO easy!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jul 2013
Reviewed by: SUEASTY
I cannot wait to make it.I love when people give recipe ideas to improve a recipe -this recicpe sounds easy and yummy. I will give my real recview after I make it! i need to wait for my tomatoes as they are ripening late this year.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: Jenben
Good way to use cherry tomatoes. Easy to prepare.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Jul 2014
Reviewed by: Mottessl
This was so delicious and fresh!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jul 2013
Reviewed by: ljsousa
I make this a lot with penne or farfalle. I sometimes add toasted pine nuts...Love it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes