My Reviews (345)

Delicious Cherry Cobbler

Using fresh cherries may take a little longer than tinned because you need to pit them, but it is well worth it when you taste the finished product.
Reviews (345)


23 Jul 2005
Reviewed by: COOKINMOMMY1
OUTSTANDING! I followed reviewers' suggestions and used 1/2 cup less sugar, more cherries, added a tsp of Pampered Chef Cinnamon Plus spice blend, and a tsp of vanilla. I also used half white sugar and half Sugar in the Raw, because I like its richness in baked goods. I made one-and-a-half of the recipe for the cobbler part because I like mine with lots of the good stuff. I used a cherry pitter, so from start to finish the prep time took less than 20 minutes. The finished product is fantastic. The taste and texture of the cakey part of the cobbler is just sublime. This is the one to try if you're looking for a good cobbler recipe!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: Tammy Good
Wonderful! I picked up a pail of Door County Wisconsin cherries while on vacation and have made this four times (for myself and to share with others) I did add one additional cup of cherries. It's almost like "magic" how the cobbler forms! Someone at work gave me a tip on how to pit cherries--use a drinking straw. Just hold the cherry flat on a plate, push the straw into the cherry, then pull the cherry up over the straw. The pit remains on the end of the straw. It worked great--(much better than my $10 cherry pitter.) Thanks for sharing this great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Aug 2005
Reviewed by: AMYSOWERS
I hate to give something a bad review but I really did not like this recipe. I expected cobbler to have a biscut-like drop dough. This is more like a sponge cake or an upside-down cake. The end result was good, a little too sweet but definetly not cobbler. sorry.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: Chef Jayne
Thank you for this recipe -- it has been a huge hit. We have a Montmorency cherry tree and I've been looking for ways to enjoy these tart cherries. After reading all previous reviews, I edited the recipe to follow the majority: 1. changed amount of cherries from 2 cups to 4 cups 2. added 1 tsp vanilla and 1 tsp cinnamon to the flour/sugar/baking powder/milk mixture.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Aug 2005
Reviewed by: CINDY18LOU
I used sweet cherries and also halved both sugar amounts. Very tasty. I used 2% milk which worked great. I also added 1 t. vanilla in with the milk, and sprinkled cherries with cinnamon, brown sugar, and cocoa powder. Thanks a lot!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: Jillian
Wow - easy and delicious! Plus it uses "fresh" fruit vs. canned which makes a huge difference. For the batter I got away with using 1/2 cup of sugar vs. a whole cup and like others I added a bit of cinnamon. I used buttermilk vs. milk and added 1 tsp of vanilla and 1/4 tsp of almond extract. While I poured the batter into the 9x13 dish I kept thinking, "Is this really going to be enough?" and while it spread thin, in the end it was plenty. I doubled the amount of fresh cherries and even though my hands looked like something out of a horror flick it was worth it. I just might have to try this with fresh peaches or blueberries. I tossed the cherries with 1/2 cup of white sugar and 1/4 cup of brown sugar. This baked up beautifully in 55 minutes! I sprinkled the top with a bit of powdered sugar and served it with vanilla ice cream and whipped cream - YUMMY!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: stacykr
Sour cherries are in season & we’re fortunate to have an orchard full of them quite close. (They also offer free cherry pitting to boot!) This cobbler recipe is easy & really delicious. Like other reviews suggest, we doubled the sour cherries (4 cups), added 1 tsp. vanilla extract & ½ tsp. cinnamon. This recipe is a keeper! Addition: Please note the extra cherries could add additional cooking time (ours was about 20 min.).
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Jul 2005
Reviewed by: ADWEENAL
Wonderful! this was a huge hit... got future hubbie to pit the cherries! I used only 3/4 cup sugar in the base and only 1/2 cup in the cherries - and it was wonderful. Served warm with a scoop of vanilla ice cream!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Jun 2004
Reviewed by: RTRIXIE
Delicious! What a wonderful, quick easy recipe! I added a lot of cinnamon, nutmeg and ginger, as well as a big dollop of maple syrup to the batter, and it was great! My hubby raved and raved about it. And my three-year-old could happily lick the batter because it didn't contain eggs! I will definitely being making this again! - Many, many thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Jun 2008
Reviewed by: CrysGibsonHPC
This recipe was quick and easy! It was my first FRESH cherry cobbler. I have always made it with pie filling. This is SO much better! Loved it and will definitely make it again SOON! It was a hit with the family too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes