My Reviews (24)

Easy Potato Latkes

This potato latke recipe has been passed down though our family. The secret in these latkes is dicing the potatoes in the food processor rather than grating them.
Reviews (24)


13 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: Rachel
Phenomenal recipe! My first time making latkes on my own and all my guests were raving. I don't own a food processor so I peeled and grated the potatoes and onion. I added a couple of dashes of pepper and garlic powder. The recipe made a lot, depending on how big your latkes are. I even sent someone home with the recipe. This is a holiday staple recipe for us now.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: Scatcat ~ Rachel
This was great! My family loved it. I think I needed more potatoes. My batter was too thin and I struggled a little bit. Next time I will make sure I have a thicker consistency. But even with that, it was great. Thank you for a great dish.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: Duckball
Very good! I didn't bother cubing the spuds since they were going to be processed. I quartered them and it worked fine. I also only used about 1 thick slice of onion, and that was enough. These turned out quite delicious with sour cream and bacon bits. Be warned, though: don't prepare this too far in advance as the potatoes will start to brown. It still tastes fine (at least to me), but it looks a little less yummy. Thanks for sharing, Basg!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: Cathy Myers
Finally, perfect latkes! A few adjustments: I used 5 smallish russet potatoes and left the skins on, 1 egg and added black pepper to the mix. I did not squeeze the grated potatoes. The potatoes juices pooled at the bottom of the mixing bowl. I used a 1/3 cup measuring cup. This recipe gave me 8 uniformed patties. Fried for approximately 4 mins. each side. Terrific with our beef polska keilbasa and saurkraut. Don't forget the homemade applesauce and sour cream!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: LJNICOSIA
Very tasty and easy to make. I doubled the recipe but not the onions. I like the taste of onions but I thought that 2 onions was too much. I used 1 medium size onion...about 2 inches in diameter. It was just enough flavoring.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Dianne
Excellent recipe. It really is foolproof. Success on my first try.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: SharonG
The recipe was perfect. I lost my original recipe that I had for years and printed this one out. perfect. A few minor changes though. I let the potato/onion mixture sit in a colander and I push the liquid out. Than i let the potatoe water sit for 5 minutes so it becomes sediment (potato starch) and I add that to the mix as well. Also, I added more salt and definitely pepper. Soooo good!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Dec 2010
Great and simple! The Commenter above may have used too large of an onion, or too small potatoes. I used very large potatoes and a medium red onion (I also added crumbled bacon) and I thought they were very good
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: ronzstudio
way too much onion...... had to smother it in ketsup of all things just to get 1 down... might try again without the onion
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: H
These were delicious, and my kids loved them! I did follow the advice of previous posters, and I only used 1 egg. Instead of latkes, I made them the size of falafels, which allowed them to fry faster. I probably got about 20-25 from this recipe. Easy and quick!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes