My Reviews (19)

Sweet Cucumber and Tomato Salad

A wonderful refreshing summer salad based on sliced cucumbers, tomatoes and sweet onion. You can reduce the amount of sugar if you like it a bit tarter.
Reviews (19)


26 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: Connie
I make this on a smaller scale. just use 2-3 cucumbers, preferrably a purple onion if I have it, a tomato and vinegar, salt, sugar (I usually use Splenda) & a small amount of salad oil. Have used apple cider vinegar also. You can "play" around with it until you like the proportions.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: TheFoxyK9
Very good, i love cucumber, tomatoe and onion salad, but never knew how to make it. No one ever told me to add sugar to the vinegar. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: Marty Courtney
Excellent recipe. The only thing I will do different next time is to add about 1/8 cup EVOO.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: LindaLou
This is my new favorite summer cuke recipe! A nice change from the creamy mix. I used celery salt and some Mediterran salt. Also soaked the cukes in salt for about 20 mins. beforehand. Second time making it, I added yellow and red peppers.. yum!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: Donna Jackson
I detest celery seed, so I omitted it. This is a lot but the longer it sat the tastier it got.....Will make again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Jun 2012
Reviewed by: Cindy in Pensacola
This is exactly what I was looking for from my remembering my mom's tomato and cucumber salad from 40 years ago! I didn't have the celery seed so I put in a little bit of dried dill. So bright and fresh with that hint of sweetness. I did cut the recipe down to 2 servings and still used 2 tomatoes and 1 whole small vidalia onion. Thanks you for this great recipe to use up those cukes!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: MaryCrowell
Not bad but very sweet. My mom has made this salad for as long as I can remember. For a more tart version cut the sugar to a pinch and the balsamic altogether.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: Jennifer
Very good! Love the dressing. Only suggestion is to definitely peel off some of the skin of the cucumber to cut down on bitterness.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: kellieann
My mother always used to make this during the summer with vegetables fresh from her garden. I've been trying to recreate her recipe, this is very close, thank you!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: jiphner
My Mother-in-Law loved it. However, my husband said it was too sweet, my son said the cucumbers were soggy, and no one liked the tomato or onions. Good recipe...just not our cup of tea. Also, it doesn't make very good left overs.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes