My Reviews (52)

Mexican Flan

This is an incredibly easy dessert to make. For a denser, cheesecake-like texture, substitute 200g cream cheese for two of the eggs.
Reviews (52)


30 Apr 2006
Reviewed by: OTTOS2
I made this for my Spanish II class party. I personally do not like flan, however, I got several reviews on how good this was. Before making flan, I would advise reading the how-to on the mexican recipes main page. It had many tips, like don't stir the sugar and to add a drop or two of lemon juice to it. Also, it had more detailed instructions on how to make a proper water bath for the flan. One woman, who lived in peru for 10 years, said that she usually flips her flan over right after it cools, then she chills it like that. That way a lot less of the caramel sticks to the pan. These tips made for a nice flan which was also moderately easy to prepare.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 May 2003
Reviewed by: Deb Brundage
I have this same recipe from a cuban cookbook -- it's FANTASTIC and genuine. It cuts well, yet is creamy. One of a kind experience! One hint for those who have a problem with it (such as the person who found it crumbly) -- switch the steps in the recipe. First caramelize the sugar and pour into the pan, then allow it to cool -- that way the eggs will not curdle upon being poured into the pan.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Mar 2003
Reviewed by: VANESSA RONSSE
This recipe was awesome! I cooked it for about ten minutes less than the recipe called for. I used cream cheese in it. It was crazy good. It was very easy too. I just didn't know how to get the crunchy glaze out of the pan. I guess hot water would release it. I also wasn't sure whether to cover it or not, I didn't cover it. My husband took it to work to true Mexicans. I shouldn't have been nervous about it, they loved it. I will make it over and over again. Fabulous!!!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Apr 2001
Reviewed by: JUNEODELL
This was the easiest dessert I have ever made. I was a little confused about the wet towel so I placed the pan of flan inside a larger pan and filled the larger pan until it was at the half mark of the smaller flan pan. Tasted excellent and I received many compliments!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Aug 2005
Reviewed by: Bill Gillaspie
Help. The caramalized sugar turned rock hard very quickly. I baked it in the oven in hopes it would turn liquid again but no luck. I notice this is a problem in some reviews so there must be a trick in working the sugar? I love flan and will try this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Aug 2002
Reviewed by: LILDUMPLIN
I have tried flan on several occassions and have not been too crazy about it. This recipe is awesome!!! My kids loved it.We used the cream cheese version and my oldest daughter compared it to cheesecake. This recipe is worth making. Very little prep time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: MONICA3373
Growing up in a mexican family everyone is so picky about traditional mexican dishes. I made this last night and it came out delicious, next time I'm going to try it with the cream cheese. Thank you!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Jun 2005
Reviewed by: CREAMEDVEGIEHEAD
Me and my grandma tried this recipe and we had no complaints about it!! I found out about flan last year and have been using Jell-o's instant flan until we found this recipe. If u havn't tried this recipe, TRY IT!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Mar 2002
Reviewed by: sandra
This was the BEST Flan recipe! I loved it and my entire family loved it! They keep asking me to make it for them again and again. And it is so simple! Thank yoU!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: slr814
This tastes like scrambled eggs with simple syrup poured over it. I followed the directions to the letter and it was nothing like I have had in restaurants. I was very disappointed. I will try another flan recipe next time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes