My Reviews (29)

Local Fish Chowder

With potatoes, bacon and gurnard, tarakihi or any white fish you're keen on, this seafood chowder keeps it local and is quick and easy. Serve with bread.
Reviews (29)


22 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: LWAGAR
This was just like my mom made many years ago when I grew up on Long Island. I used 12 oz of cod filet (nice firm white fish) and I also added a stalk of celery finely chopped to the onion. I used fat free 1/2 and 1/2 and some milk to get the right consistency and a couple of dashes of hot sauce. It needed salt very badly! and oh, I cooked the potatoes mostly in chicken broth. Guess I changed it somewhat, but t was really delicous. My 90 yr old dad said it was just like mom used to make....a real complement for sure!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: Lollychester
THis was great but I made a few changes so I could throw it in the crockpot... I didn't have any onion, so instead used a couple of ribs of celery and cooked them up with about 1/2 a pound of bacon. I used frozen diced potatoes (about 2 cup) and added a can of sweet corn. I made a white sauce (to thicken my milk a bit). I used whiting (about 4 fillets. I cooked the celery and bacon before adding it to the crock. Cooked it on high for about 4 hours - came out delicious! Even our kids loved it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Sep 2001
Reviewed by: Julie Fegler
This is a very simple, tasty recipe. I used flounder instead of haddock and it would be good with most any fish. I also used cream in place of the milk, and it had a delicious, rich flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: Lisa
Very good fish chowder and easy to make. I did add some chicken broth instead of water to cook the potatoes in. I also added some cream instead of milk.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: Corinne
I loved this chowder partly because it wasn't to fishy tasting and partly because it wasn't filled with heavy cream. I sauted celery and garlic with the onions and bacon and added about 1/8 cup of half & half with the milk. This was even better the 2nd day. Thanks for a great recipe that I will definitely make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Oct 2003
Reviewed by: PETRIE27
I have to review this recipe again because it's just soooo good! This time, I added celery, mushrooms & scallions w/ the bacon & onion sautee, also used half & half instead of milk and chicken broth in place of the water for potatoes. I also added 1 can of corn - again I used leftovers, grilled swordfish steaks in a terriyaki marinade. I have not tried raw fish yet, but this recipe will work with anything - very versitile and absolutely perfect!! I get such great compliments on this dish, you have to try this! Thank you again for an awesome recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: L.R. Sullivan
I prepared this chowder for a church dinner for 75 people. It was a tremendous hit. Most people came back for seconds, a few for thirds. Easy to and quick to prepare.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Sep 2003
Reviewed by: REJJP
This meal was delicious. I have always wanted to make my own chowder. This was perfect. The next time I will put more fish in it though.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: SFB
it should not even get one star, but the website makes you put at least one in - but really no stars.....
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Mar 2003
Reviewed by: PUREDIVINITY
This is great and it is really easy to prepare as well. Despite being such a simple recipes, it taste wonderful. I added a little light soy sauce to enhance the taste.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes