My Reviews (281)

Fish Fillets in Lemon Butter

There's nothing better than a simple fillet of fish baked in a lemon butter sauce. Serve with a side of rice or pasta and a crisp green salad.
Reviews (281)


23 Dec 2016
Reviewed by: DeanKilgour
Tried it on a Lemonfish I caught the night before,came out superb. Definitely making this again.
 
05 Nov 2016
Reviewed by: DavidLloyd
I cheated a little because I hadn't got parsley or lemon pepper. I used fresh coriander in place of parsley, and the zest of the lemon with lots of freshly ground black pepper to replace the lemon pepper. A lovely zingy flavour that worked well with the very meaty trevally. It would work well with oily fish too.
 
04 Jan 2004
Reviewed by: KZOO_KATHY
Very good flavor! I used pollock filets, which were fairly thin. But so many reviewers recommended a longer cooking time, that I cooked them for 30 minutes just to be sure. I served this with a flavored rice mix and french-cut green beans. It's easy enough for a weeknight dinner, but looks special. Thank you, Matthew! A word to the wise: Because of the lemon juice, DO NOT use a Teflon-coated (i.e. non-stick) baking sheet or it will absorb the fish smell and flavor. Use glass if you can.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Jun 2008
Reviewed by: Goldilocks19
Prior to cooking, I read the reviews and followed some of the suggestions. I also "tasted" the sauce as I went. I used less salt and pepper (1/4 the amount listed). I also added 1/4 tsp dill weed and a heaping tbsp of Mayo (to help it "stick". The results were fantastic. Since we also had shrimp skewers, I wanted something similar but different (so the flavors would compliment each other), so I cut back on the lemon juice by 1/2, omitted the dill this time, and added a scant 1/4 cup grated parmesan. The shrimp were heavenly. This recipe is definitely a keeper, as my husband has recently developed a love of fish. Next time I'm trying it with a butter substitute, as my hubby has digestive problems with that much butter. But recipe definitely earns 5 stars! Update: I tried another variation using the mayo, parmesan, dill, and chives added to the basic recipe (like I've done in the past), and baked it over tilapia fillets. MMMMMMMMM! It was wonderful. My son, who doesn't really like fish, really enjoyed this! This is now my standard recipe for fish! If I could rate it 10 stars, I would! Next time, I'm going to try it with a splash of wine... Ohhhh, I can hardly wait!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Jun 2005
Reviewed by: SMALLANGIE
I also think that adding lemon pepper seasoning to the lemon butter cod will have a overpowering taste. Instead, I grated the lemon zest and mixed it with 1/2 cup of plain bread crumbs. I also layered fresh baby spinach underneath the fish, covered it with lemon butter and bread crumb mixture, and finished it with some grated parmesan cheese on top. I baked it at 375F for 15 minutes, and removed the foil to bake for another 15 minutes. Absolutely love that creamy lemon taste!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Jun 2002
Reviewed by: Janet Dufour
This is very similar to the way I normally cook fish, halibut, in general. I used halibut with this recipe and it turned out awesome. I also added some heavy cream to the sauce at the end to make a cream sauce and it was superb.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Apr 2006
Reviewed by: Raoulysgirl
This is 5 star only after a few changes based on other people's suggestions. Left out the lemon pepper entirely, sprinkled a little dill over, used fresh lemon juice, and placed a slice of lemon on top of each fillet. As a personal preference, I used orange roughy instead of cod because I can't stand cod. Great after these changes!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Apr 2005
Reviewed by: CandiceSteele
I wrapped salmon, topped with this sauce, in foil packets and baked them. I omitted the lemon pepper and placed lemon slices on top of the fish instead. It was delicious! My husband is picky about fish and he really enjoyed this recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: naples34102
I'm rating this four stars rather than five as the amount of lemon pepper and lemon called for seems overbearing. I toned them both down considerably, and used fresh parsley rather than dried. I also was not fond of the cooking method, covering the fish with foil. I prefer my fish a nice, golden brown, so I baked it in a 400 degree oven, uncovered, till flaky (time depends on thickness of filets, and mine were done in 15 minutes), then broiled them just long enough to brown the top. Hubs and I really enjoyed this, but again, my recommendation would be to use only enough lemon pepper and lemon juice to suit you.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: jennak
LOVED this recipe. Didn't have lemon-pepper on hand so I omittted it and am glad I did as I think it would have "ruined" the fresh taste it had. This is quick, easy and really favorful. For the reviews calling it "bland" or just "so-so" I would venture to guess they didn't use fresh lemon, fresh garlic, etc.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes