My Reviews (13)

Lentil Spread

This is a deliciously rich spread which also works as a side dish with a Lebanese meal. Truffle oil is the secret!
Reviews (13)


Comment:
29 Sep 2008
AMATULLAH said:
Altered ingredient amounts. This recipe is okay. I more than doubled the water for cooking the lentils and they still didn't come out as soft I would have liked for this recipe. While the recipe doesn't use a ton, truffle oil is quite expensive. I'm not sure this recipe is worth the effort or expense, particularly for a someone who eats meat. It still gets 3 stars, because it doesn't taste all that bad. It's close to real pate, but different enough to feel like something is missing.
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
Used different ingredients. I've made this before because I have a lot of food allergies and hummus is a wonderful, healthy snack I can eat. The problem: I hate chickpeas. So I've made "hummus" with lentils as this recipe says. I didn't use truffle oil, but chilli oil. The spice gives it some kick. I love it!
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: URBLDMYSKN
This is actually surprisingly delicious. I had no problem cooking up my lentils (although they didn't get very tender, it's true. But I like them better that way) with the 2 cups of stock. The truffle oil is wonderful. This is my first time making lentils and I'm surprised at how much I like it. I would absolutely make this recipe again.
 
22 Apr 2006
Reviewed by: WHITNEYBROOK
This recipe is okay. I more than doubled the water for cooking the lentils and they still didn't come out as soft I would have liked for this recipe. While the recipe doesn't use a ton, truffle oil is quite expensive. I'm not sure this recipe is worth the effort or expense, particularly for a someone who eats meat. It still gets 3 stars, because it doesn't taste all that bad. It's close to real pate, but different enough to feel like something is missing. *** Three years later*** This recipe has really grown on me. My vegetarian friends seem to like it quite a bit. I keep the ingredients on hand and it's fairly quick and easy to make when I want to bring a dish to a party. I have found that if you don't tell people it's lentils, word might get around that it's liver and it won't eat eaten - even by the nonvegetarians
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: sallybranwyn
I've made this before because I have a lot of food allergies and hummus is a wonderful, healthy snack I can eat. The problem: I hate chickpeas. So I've made "hummus" with lentils as this recipe says. I didn't use truffle oil, but the chili oil from Trader Joes. The spice gives it some kick. I love it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: DaraFG
This is actually surprisingly delicious. I had no problem cooking up my lentils (although they didn't get very tender, it's true. But I like them better that way) with the 2 cups of broth. The truffle oil is wonderful. This is my first time making lentils and I'm surprised at how much I like it. I would absolutely make this recipe again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: dobby
Despite what the name might imply, this recipe was actually very easy! I used white truffle oil and then cheated and used tinned lentils. It was divine with some toasted bread.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
28 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Mrs. R
I didnt like this recipe at all. I do really like Hummous and other pate/dips, but this is very chalky and bland... even after adding more oil, water and seasoning. disappointed because I was planning to serve it tonight as an appetizer.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: LoriB
I used olive oil and lots of fresh garlic It was delicious and never liked lentils in the past. Healthier than chick peas.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Jan 2015
Reviewed by: Buckwheat Queen
This was nice. The truffle oil did make a difference and we liked the flavor. I tried to play with the ingredients and mixed in a bit of brandy and I think that made it more of a mock patè than a snazzy lentil dip-which is what it tastes like with its original ingredients. I put it in the freezer to maintain the shape of patè and for the next time will make some aspic to cover it to help hold the shape. The original recipe is a 4 star recipe for me; add a splash of brandy and you can tack on a half star. Thank you Cathi from NJ for an enjoyable treat.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes