My Reviews (25)

Lemon and Lentil Soup

This is a delicious lemony Lebanese style lentil soup. Use vegetable stock if you want it vegetarian.
Reviews (25)


Comment:
29 Sep 2008
RANDOMFAERIE said:
Used different ingredients. Living in Italy it is hard to find all the seasonings this soup required (!) so I replaced the parsley and thyme with sage, and added a sprig of rosemary while simmering the stock. Everyone I served it to really loved it, but I found the salt from the prepared chicken stock to be overwhelming. I think it would be good with feta cheese sprinkled on top.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: ARTIESKEETER
Very good, filling, great taste, and healthy. However, I found the length of the cooking times to be absurd and unnecessarily long. The first cooking time (for the stock), I cut back to 30 min; also, I used all the stock and only added a little extra water. I cooked the lentils for about 30 minutes, until tender but not mushy, the way I like them, and I did not simmer it a full 15 minutes after adding the remaning ingredients. I think this would also be very good with spinach or any other green in place of the silverbeet.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: SELLI
YO!! The wife hated it, but I was feel'n this one. BIG UP. I made some garlic cheesy bread to go with, yo perfect match....not enough good things I can say abouts it!!
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: ENOXALLEN
This was good and intresting....My two year old was not a fan of it but my husband loves it.....
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Crow's Girl
I highly recommend, the dark greens are so tasty in this soup unfortunetly the lemon really over powered the flavours, because of this the soup tasted better the next night. I'll make again with half the lemon suggested.
 
14 Oct 2005
Reviewed by: ESTEPHAN
Very good, filling, great taste, and healthy. However, I found the length of the cooking times to be absurd and unnecessarily long. The first cooking time (for the broth), I cut back to 30 min; also, I used all the broth and only added a little extra water. I cooked the lentils for about 30 minutes, until tender but not mushy, the way I like them, and I did not simmer it a full 15 minutes after adding the remaning ingredients. I think this would also be very good with spinach or any other green in place of the chard.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Apr 2006
Reviewed by: FieldGreens
I highly recommend, the dark greens are so tasty in this soup unfortunetly the lemon really over powered the flavors, because of this the soup tasted better the next night. I'll make again with half the lemon suggested.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: tracys
I loved this soup! I was skeptical about the quantity of broth and water called for, but after all of that simmering, you end up with the right amount. I made this vegetarian by using veg broth instead of chicken. I went a littler heavier on the thyme sprigs and used a little less than 1/2 cup of lemon juice. I suggest adding 1/4 cup at first, tasting it and then adding lemon as needed. The soup has a lot of depth when it comes to flavor and the lemon and thyme have your taste buds craving more. I highly recommend this wonderful, hearty soup!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 May 2005
Reviewed by: SHADYB
YO!! The wife hated it, but I was feel'n this one. BIG UP. I made some garlic cheesy bread to go with, yo perfect match....not enough good things I can say abouts it!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: Rachelle
It's so healthy, that is the biggest benefit. The directions were a bog lenthy...Just boil the broth and put in lentils and later on at greens.You could use any green like mustard or kale too. Immidiately I wanted to eat it all but by the next day, I was sick of it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes