My Reviews (18)

Fruit and Nut Biscotti

These homemade biscotti are a wonderful combination of fruits, nuts, chocolate chips and spices. Serve them with tea or coffee to guests.
Reviews (18)


01 Sep 2012
Reviewed by: PansyApplewood
This recipe is wonderful with a cup of coffee. It’s not sweet and the combination of fruit and chocolate work well. I added in some left-over dried cherries in addition to the cranberries and apricots which added additional fruitiness. I used all-purpose flour which worked out fine. To add a little extra sweetness and prettiness, I laced the biscotti with a confection sugar icing.
 
22 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: Cherrychip
This was my first time making biscotti and these were delicious! I made a few changes based on what I had on hand- I used salted butter instead of unsalted butter, 2 tsps instant coffee since I couldn't find instant espresso, 1/4 tsp. orange extract instead of the zest, and 3 1/8 cup all purpose flour. I drizzled the biscotti with melted white chocolate and chocolate when they were cool. I really liked the combination of flavors in this recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: cookin4eight
This is definitely a favorite! It was hard to not eat the dough and the cookie after the 1st baking! The combination of dried cranberries, almonds, and chocolate is wonderful! I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 because I found I needed to tweak it. The dough was too dry & crumbly, so I added a splash of milk so I could manage the dough. Also, I couldn't taste the coffee, so I would increase that. I do think the chocolate brings out the coffee flavor a bit. This is a real keeper!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: Mary Louise Whitlow
Very Good! An acquaintance asked me if I made these biscotti to sell because if I did she wanted to buy some!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Dec 2012
Reviewed by: Krykket
Made this again recently, this is still one of my favorite biscotti recipes. Instead of "stirring" in the toppings (chocolate, almonds, etc) I put the dough on a cutting board/clean surface and knead the toppings in slowly to help control where everything is going. [[12/24/2012]] Perfection! I always get rave reviews when I make these biscotti. They are very easy to make, and the dough isn't as sticky as some other biscotti recipes I've tried -- makes it easier to knead the dough. The only tweaks I make is to double up on the espresso, skip the dried apricots and add a 1/4 cup more of each of the chocolate, almonds and cranberries (personal preference). When forming the logs, I like to angle the top and bottom edges of the dough so that when you cut them diagonally, you don't waste too much of the cookie. After it is twice baked and cooled, I like to dip some of the cookies in ganache chocolate (See Chocolate Ganache Recipe).
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: suz
cant keep them in the house. have made them several times. this time it was with hazelnuts ... wonderful as well.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Dec 2014
Reviewed by: Holiday Baker
I thought this was a good recipe. I used it in some mailed cookie boxes for Christmas. I like how there is so much going on flavor wise. The orange zest flavor is pretty dominant and I liked that. The colors arent so vibrant like on the marichino cherry ones. I actually labeled what was in them, on the gift packages, because its hard to tell. Only change I made was halving the fruit and chopping it up. I also just chopped whole almonds. For the coffee I used starbucks instant Christmas blend grind. Lastly, I used cake flour and salted butter. The 2" width, on the shaping, seemed small. I went with approximately 2.5." I suggest that, because they dont puff up much larger after the first bake. They still are a smaller biscotti. I had no issues with cutting them which was nice. I hope the food gift is liked.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: PansyApplewood
This recipe is wonderful with a cup of coffee. It’s not sweet and the combination of fruit and chocolate work well. I added in some left-over dried cherries in addition to the cranberries and apricots which added additional fruitiness. I used all-purpose flour which worked out fine. To add a little extra sweetness and prettiness, I laced the biscotti with a confection sugar icing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
22 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: ANGCHICK
There are a lot of flavors going on but they complement each other very well. I drizzled mine with melted chocolate.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Dec 2014
Reviewed by: Heavens2
I doubled the espresso as suggested, but still don't really taste it. That being said these are very good. I also left out the apricots and chocolate chips and dipped in chocolate instead. The dough is pretty stiff and difficult to mix all the goodies into so I just dumped it on the counter and kneaded them in. Also, I wish I would have flattened the logs even more so they would be long thin slices. I thought I went to about an inch, but I was a little over and it does rise.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes