My Reviews (18)

Rich Walnut Date Cake

This a favourite fruit and nut cake around Christmas. It's also great just as a snack, or served to guests with afternoon coffee or tea.
Reviews (18)


30 Jul 2002
Reviewed by: BGILDAY
I experimented with this cake having had one of a similar name at a wedding. This was different, but wow, was it great! I took it to work and everyone wanted the recipe. I enjoy it without icing, but added, for work, an icing made of 1 and 1/4 c. icing sugar, sifted, 2 tbsp. softened butter, and maple syrup until it was the consistency to drizzle over the cake. I found by purchasing chopped dates separated by a little flour, that the prep time was considerably shortened. I also found that I could make some extra cupcakes as the recipe was quite large.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: GURUJEEA
I am new to baking and this was just the third cake I tried, ever. It came out really well. I took it to a friend's place for dinner and the cake got over in no time. I scaled the recipe for 8 servings instead of 16 and reduced the amount of dates and walnuts by half since the ingredients are expensive and I am not very experienced. The cake still came out really well. The one thing I realized half way through was that there were very little wet ingredeients and after I added the yolk, the batter was still not wet and homogenous. I almost gave up at that point. If you are new to baking, don't worry about this, the cake turns out yummy despite this. Another hurdle was the dates; they were really soft and were sticking to each other. I dusted each piece with flour before mixing them with the other dry ingredients and the remaining flour. This can be time consuming, but worth the effort.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: Syd
This is more of a confection than a cake - and it is wonderful. Unbelievably delicious, and extremely beautiful.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: Chocopop
Absolutely delicious! This has become a Chritmas time favourite in our family. I use light muscovado sugar instead of white sugar for a more wholesome flavour. I also often halve the recipe and bake the cake in an 8 inch tube pan. Turns out perfectly every time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
Comment:
16 Nov 2011
togram said:
Can I use a round cake dish for this recipe? What diameter please? Thank-you.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
06 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: RESONNANT
This cake is absolutely amazing! I had my doubts while mixing the ingredients because after adding the yolks it stayed quite dry. Next up were the egg whites and THEN it all made sense. It began to stick together. I didn't press it all together or pat it down in the pan but I think I'll do so next time. I followed the recipe exactly and didn't change anything. This is such a simple recipe but wonderful and old fashioned-ish.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
Comment:
01 Jan 2011
Breen said:
If I half the ingredients do I leave the cake in the oven for half the time???
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
18 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: Janice
i'm not sure why it turned out like it did, but it wasn't even a "cake" anymore. more like a combination of walnut and dates clumped together. still quite yummy, but i would recommend a bit more sugar. maybe make sure that you have enough flour and eggs to have a more cakelike consistency to the batter before baking. definitely will try again, even thought the ingredients are slightly expensive.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: purplemoon
I made this for Christmas and everyone raved about it! I also made a granadilla flavoured icing that i drizzled over it and the tanginess really complemented the cake flavour. Will definately be making this every year for christmas now.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: Becky
I made this for Christmas this year and got good reports on it from friends. It is an easy cake to make. I had to pit and chopped the dates by hand - this took a while but otherwise it is not time consuming to make. I used a bundt pan.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes