My Reviews (12)

Caraway Seed Cake

Caraway seed cakes are originally from Britain and have a very distinctive flavour and texture. Try it and see what you think - I love it!
Reviews (12)


22 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: Ruth
Delicious recipe! It was perfect. I must say though, that "pour into pan" is impossible. You have to pat it in like biscuit dough. The texture was fabulous, very tender, with a lovely crust. I'll be making this again and again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: jlandhen
This is memories from my childhood. My mom has misplaced her recipe so I was glad to find one. It's flavour was perfect, and I went heavy on the caraway seeds, but I found it dry. Next time I will add a bit less flour and see if it helps.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 May 2003
Reviewed by: PATGEORGE
As a kid I hated this. As a grown up I love it! Every cake shop in England used to sell it, but I haven't seen any commercially for decades. Do try it. You'll either hate it or love it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: gilfaethwy
I found this recipe -- identical to that which appeared in the late 1960s Time Life book on British Cookery, from which I tried it -- turned out odd. It produced not a batter but a dough, so I second the comment that "pouring the batter is impossible"-- it made not so much a cake as a mildly sweet bread. I suspect that the recipe has an error in it and that it calls for too much flour for the butter and sugar. Of course, very old recipes for Seed Cake sometimes made more of a bread than a cake, and perhaps I was expecting a more Victorian product. I was tempted to add some mace or even vanilla (both of which are ingredients in other recipes for Seed Cake); I also used some ground caraway along with the whole seed. On the whole, this recipe as stated makes a pleasant somewhat sweet dense bread which is nice with tea or coffee.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: helpmecook82
I had never gotten use out of the caraway seeds in my spice rack, so I searched this site for a recipe that utilized them. I made this super easy cake as an afterthought after cooking dinner one night. It tasted great! I think of it more as a sweet bread, and it's very tasty with butter. I'm glad to have added this to my recipe box!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Mar 2000
Reviewed by: HERTFORD
I had this cake as a child, it is excellent. All ages will enjoy this cake.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Nov 2011
Reviewed by: franky151
great and family love thanks if you want a stronger taste of caraway crush half a teaspoon in a pestle and mortar the flavour becomes intense but not for children (too strong)
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
18 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: shadowclad
Too much flour so the cake is very dry and more like bread. Not the buttery sponge I was looking forward to at all
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
23 Jun 2015
Reviewed by: RIDiver
I've been making this for years - SOOO delicious! Not super sweet, which is something I love about it! Yes, the dough is quite stiff, so you need to use a spatula to scoop it out and spread it into your pan - but that's what's supposed to happen. It's best eaten in the first day or two or it gets stale - but if that happens, use it to make a trifle with! :-) One hint is not to go overboard with the caraway seeds. I also grind them in a coffee grinder before adding them - it makes them not quite such a surprise to bite into when you're eating your seed cake and makes the flavor all throughout the cake. I very often have people try to guess what flavors the cake and NO ONE ever can - they're always shocked to hear that it's caraway! And then they always ask for the recipe! :-) This one is absolutely one of my GO TO favorites!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Jun 2014
Reviewed by: SalamHabib
Great cake. Require a bit more sugar.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes