My Reviews (60)

Banana Breakfast Muffins

These muffins are great for a nutritious breakfast. Make a batch ahead of time and you will always have them ready. They keep well.
Reviews (60)


18 Feb 2016
Reviewed by: FaerieWings
reduced sugar to 1/3 cup. Also added 1 cup ground nuts (walnut, macadamia, almond), 1/3 cup toasted coconut and 2 tabsp sesame seeds. added second egg and a little milk to achieve proper consistency.
 
28 May 2008
Reviewed by: GodivaGirl
Good banana and oat flavor, but a bit dry. First off, I'm sure it's a misprint but I put in 1 WHOLE egg, instead of a tablespoon of egg! I subbed canola oil for vegetable oil, 1 cup of all purpose flour in place of 2 cups of wheat flour. For some who may not know rolled oats are old-fashioned oats, not quick cooking. Finally, I added 1 tablespoon of ground flaxseed. The batter was very thick, filled my paper liners 3/4's of the way full. My muffins cooked in 20 minutes and I got 14 muffins. Next time I will try applesauce in place of the oil and maybe a handful of chopped walnuts.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: Sarah Jo
I'm always looking for new ways to use up bananas. Now that my dad knows I bake a lot with bananas, he's now bringing all his ripe ones for me to use. I followed GodivaGirl's lead and cut back on the flour, as she thought it was too thick. I did half a cup of wheat and half a cup of white. I added in a half teaspoon of salt and a little bit of nutmeg. End result was a moist, flavorful banana muffin. I think if I were to make these again, some chopped walnuts would make these perfection. Super fast to throw together tonight as to have less of a hassle for Sunday breakfast. I plan on pairing it with a fresh fruit salad.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: Hilarious
I made this recipe with one cup white flour instead of any wheat; one cup quick oats instead of slow-cooking; 1/4 cup oil and 1/4 cup applesauce. It was really good, especially considering the reduction in oil.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: ELVISCOSTELLOFAN
I've been making muffins for quick weekday breakfasts for years now and was looking for something new. These muffins are great! I wasn't sure about the ginger at first. This may sound strange, especially since there is no butter in this recipe, but the mixture of ingredients comes together to give the muffins a rich, deep, almost buttery flavor. I followed the recipe exactly, and the muffins did seem a little dry at first. (If we were to eat them the day they were made, I'd probably add 2 tablespoons unsweetened applesauce, for more moisture.) I tend to refrigerate the muffins, and we eat them over the course of a week. This works really well, since this gives the spices a chance to develop depth of flavor, and the moisture of the bananas develops as well. This is a great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Jun 2008
Reviewed by: the allrecipes staff
Updated amounted of egg from 1 tablespoon to 1 whole. Sorry for the inconvenience.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: KathleenO
After noting the comments that these could be dry, I cut the vegetable oil (I used canola) to 1/4 cup and added 1/4 cup plain yogurt and an additional egg. I also included 1/4 tsp. salt to help bring out the flavors. I used half all-purpose flour and half whole wheat. These came out great with my revisions. I did like the unusual touch of adding ginger to this recipe. Since I used large muffin tins, it only made 6, but I expected that.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: 4bulldawgs@comcast.net
These are great!!! After reading other reviews that said they could be dry, I decided to reduce the whole wheat flour to 1.5 cups. The recipe makes a lot of batter- I just filled the muffin tin cups full & it was fine.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: alipthompson
Not sure if I did something wrong, but the muffins were inedible due to a metallic type taste? I wonder if the baking powder amount is too much? 1 tblsp is far more than in other recipes I make.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: Kalex
These were good, I substituted the oil for 1/8 cup oil and the rest unsweetened applesauce. They still turned out good with less fat. The oatmeal made them a little heavy but they were definitely filling!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes