My Reviews (86)

Easy Vegan Coffee Cake

This kind of cake originated with war time rationing, but now it's a great vegan alternative to regular spice cakes. Serve with coffee or tea.
Reviews (86)


21 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: Little Old Lady
VEGAN!! and VERY easy to make. Dirties only one pot, a spatula, and the baking pan. Didn't even have to use an egg beater or mixer. This must have been a WWII recipe when women were working long shifts and needed cake w/o much time consuming labor or rationed ingredients. What took the longest was waiting for the boiled spiced sugar syrup to cool down, but you can be preparing dinner during the half hour in the fridge it needs. This is the perfect day-before-payday-and-I-need-something-for-dessert-but-the-cupboard-is-bare recipe. Looking to see what I had available, I made it with no raisins, peanut oil instead of shortening, whole wheat pastry flour instead of white, used double-strenth black tea instead of water, and 1/2 teaspoon allspice and 1 teaspoon powdered ginger for the spices. (The tea helps the baking soda work, as it is a bit acid.) As others have said, it is moist, dense and delicious. I have to laugh when I see other reviewers using expensive and/ or non-vegan substitutions like butter, or serving it w/ ice cream. Kind of misses the point. If you can use that stuff pick another, richer cake recipe; it will taste better. However this is quite amazingly good given the limitations.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: Amy
This cake is absolutely delicious!! I found it while looking for dessert recipes that did not call for milk or eggs, only because I didn't have any in the house. I never knew you could make a cake without these ingredients. I changed it a little because of what I had in the house. I did not have any raisins, and I used ground clove instead of nutmeg and allspice and doubled the cinnamon. I also used butter instead of shortening. This was the most moist and chewy cake I have ever had! My boyfriend never eats cake, he does not like it because he says it is dry; he LOVED this cake!! It tasted like gingerbread! Many of the reviews say how dense it is, so I was nervous and thought it was going to somewhat resemble a moist brick (haha), but I am not sure what they mean, it is a little dense, but also airy like a cake, but soft and CHEWY and OH SO GOOD!! I did have to cook it a little longer than 20mins, but I will definitely be making his again soon!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Feb 2005
Reviewed by: kathleen
I give this a middle of the road rating because my family was split on the cake. The kids loved it! Plain and simple, they could've ate the whole cake themselves. As for my husband and I, we found it to be much too heavy for our liking. I also had to add 10 extra minutes of baking just to get the center cooked completely. The taste was fine but the texture was very poor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Apr 2006
Reviewed by: LowfatDANCER
Very good! Very moist and dense cake. Didn't change anything, except double the cinnamon. Also added an orange glaze( icing sugar and orange juice) to the top once it was out of the oven and cooled a bit. I'll definitely make it again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: lovingcakes
Easy to make, light, tastey and moist. Traditional cake that was fine for the whole family, might make it in a smaller cake tin next time as it was quite flat, but can't fault the taste!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
17 Jun 2006
Reviewed by: charolette
I made this so one of our b-day guests could have cake with us. It is a very heavy, dense cake with a great taste. I increased the spices to 1 tsp. each & added an orange glaze as suggested by another reviewer. Everyone was surprised at how yummy this 'everything free' cake tasted.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: muggle516
I had been pretty busy this week and hadn't had a chance to go to the store for milk or eggs, but wanted something to eat for breakfast. I found this recipe and decided to make it as a coffee cake type breakfast. I don't like rasins so I didn't add them. I would have loved to have added nuts, but didn't have any(I need to go shopping!). I did add a little bit of rum axtract to the boiled mixture and then sprinkled brown sugar and cinnamon on top before baking. Other than that I followed the recipe. The cake was heavy, but it wasn't dry. The taste was great and it filled me up for sure with my cup of coffee! I will make this cake again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Feb 2012
Reviewed by: jobake
Very easy to make and taste good. I am not a vegan, but like to use olive oil instead of other fats when I can, also we do not use a lot of milk in our house. I did cut sugar in half and used two tablespoons of honey instead.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
24 Oct 2012
Reviewed by: BlossomingFlower
Love that this cake manages to be old fashioned but remarkably up-to-date because it's vegan! I subbed out the allspice as I didn't have any, but threw in 1 star anise for about 2 minutes when boiling the syrup. Also threw in some pistachios at this point with dried cranberries and some candied fruit I had lying about from an old trail mix. The result was a brilliantly moist, slightly sticky dense cake with lots of treats hidden inside!
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
29 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: Duckball
I used Craisins instead of raisins plus I added about 2 TBS of chopped walnuts that I had left. I omitted allspice as we didn't have any. I added a tablespoon or two of cocoa so that the cake would be a little chocolatey (but not too much!), and I used margarine instead of shortening. Other than those changes, I followed the recipe... And... It was great! It took longer to cook, more like 30 minutes, but it's a nice change! ESPECIALLY with the cocoa. I really enjoyed the spices and cocoa together. My daughter is eating some with ice cream right now. Thanks, Kathy, your recipe is awesome!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes