My Reviews (71)

Lemon Biscotti

These are my favourite biscotti, flavoured with lemon and poppyseeds. Perfect for dipping in hot coffee or tea.
Reviews (71)


Comment:
21 Jul 2008
MACKALLEN said:
Used different ingredients. The biscotti tased great. I did add 100ml oil, however, as I could not get dough to even form into a ball to divide it in half - it was too dry. Next time I make this recipe, I think I would cut back on the poppy seeds by a tablespoon and increase the lemon extract and lemon zest as the lemon flavour got hidden by the poppy seeds.
 
Comment:
21 Jul 2008
ZEPHYRAZURE said:
Used different ingredients. This was so easy to make. As previous members stated I added 6 tablespoon of lemon juice. i didnt have lemon extract. Also I added groundwalnuts instead of almonds. Will use this again!
 
Comment:
21 Jul 2008
MOGAN813 said:
Altered ingredient amounts. Excellent. I had no trouble with my dough sticking together - it was very sticky in fact! I followed advice of others and increased lemon extract and reduced poppyseeds by one tablespoon. I made them for mum for mother's day and she loved them. Thanks!
 
Comment:
21 Jul 2008
ISCAR1US said:
Altered ingredient amounts. Because other reviewers said this wasn't lemony enough and because I didn't have any lemon extract, I added 4 tablespoons of lemon juice. I also added 1 T. of oil because I didn't want these to be rock hard. I also added extra poppy seeds. I can taste the lemon, and the biscotti are nice and crispy, without being tooth-chipping.
 
Comment:
21 Jul 2008
BLGPTS said:
Something else. I really liked these. The flavour is subtle, but good. The dough was sticky. I used the leftover egg yolk to brush on the logs before baking. It probably isn't necessary, but it keeps you from wasting the yolks. You MUST use a serrated knife to slice the logs. I had no trouble with mine cracking apart. The finished biscotti are very crisp, but I wouldn't call them hard. I baked them the second time for 5 minutes on one side, turned them, and baked for 4 minutes on the other.
 
07 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: LEMMONY
The biscotti tased great. I did add 1/2 cup oil, however, as I could not get dough to even form into a ball to divide it in half - it was too dry. Next time I make this recipe, I think I would cut back on the poppy seeds by a tablespoon and increase the lemon extract and lemon zest as the lemon flavor got hidden by the poppy seeds.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Mar 2004
Reviewed by: MACKALLEN
Because other reviewers said this wasn't lemony enough and because I didn't have any lemon extract, I added 4 tablespoons of lemon juice. I also added 1 T. of oil because I didn't want these to be rock hard. So, I had to add about 1/2 c. extra flour. I also added extra poppy seeds--maybe 1/4 c. extra. I can taste the lemon, and the biscotti are nice and crispy, without being tooth-chipping.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: DixT
This was so easy to make. As previous members stated I added 6 tablespoon of lemon juice. i didnt have lemon extract. Also I added grounded up walnuts instead of almonds. Will use this again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: campagnes
I've had to come back to edit this review. At first, I was pretty happy with this recipe. When I first took them out of the oven the second time, the lemon flavor was subtle but very nice. But by the next day, the flavor had faded and become unpleasant and strange.. vaguely citrusy, but it didn't meld well with the flavor of the almonds. I had made these for a friend and when I asked her if they were good, she sort of giggled and said, "Well, I wasn't going to say anything, but...." Also - I only used 1 1/2 tbsp. poppyseed and it was PLENTY. Sorry, I won't make these again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: Mallinda
I really liked these. The flavor is subtle, but good. The dough was sticky and I was able to form it into a log only by putting blobs of dough on the cookie sheet and smoothing it into log shape with wet fingers. I took another reviewers suggestion and used the leftover egg yolk to brush on the logs before baking. It probably isn't necessary, but it keeps you from wasting the yolks. You MUST use a serrated knife to slice the logs. I had no trouble with mine cracking apart. The finished biscotti are very crisp, but I wouldn't call them hard. I baked them the second time for 5 minutes on one side, turned them, and baked for 4 minutes on the other.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes