My Reviews (133)

Baked Polenta with Tomato Sauce

This is a very easy to make polenta side dish. It's great the next day too (and the day after that!). Top with additional Parmesan cheese if you like.
Reviews (133)


13 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: Betty Baker
I'd give this 20 stars if I could! My parents are from Italy and polenta was a staple when we were growing up. Adding chicken broth instead of the traditional water gives it a WONDERFUL flavor. I've also made it using cream instead of milk (yum!), and I've just sprinkled a little cheese on top instead of mixing a whole cup of it in. It's also good with sauteed mushrooms on top. A very good basic recipe - thanks Jaquita!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Dec 2008
This is an excellent basic polenta recipe. Polenta has a history aa a staple in the Northern Italian diet - especially in the Asiago area - the home of my maternal grandparents. The terms "polentone" - meaning "full of polenta" and "mangiapolenta" meaning "eat polenta" are used by Southern Italians in reference to those of Northern Italy. The following recipe modifications will bring polenta to an even more elevated level: Bring 4 cups of milk with 0.5 cup of whipping cream to a boil without scalding. Reduce the mixture to a simmer. Slowly add 1 cup of Quaker cornmeal. With a wooden spoon, stir the mixture.In the old days, the stirring was alloted to the man of the house - the thickening cornmeal can become quite resistant to stirring. Lumps will have a tendency to form. I have found that an electric hand blender will obviate these problems and will result in a smooth, lumpless (homogeneous), creamy polenta. I continue the process for 30 to 45 minutes. I then add 4 TBS of butter to the hot polenta and continue with the blender for another 5 minutes. I then add 0.5 cup of grated pecorino romano cheese. I continue with the blender for another 5 minutes. The finished polenta is then poured onto a large buttered platter. After the polenta has hardened, it is cut - like a pie - into sections and served with a variety of toppings. Left-over polenta can be served for breakfast: powder the slices with flour, fry in butter, and serve with maple syrup.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: amsuka
Great recipe, and EASY! I used homemade chicken stock, and fresh parmesan cheese, and the flavour was outstanding. To modify for regular polenta, omit the tomato sauce and chill after baking to set.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 May 2006
Reviewed by: MEEMEEBULUGA
Fantastic! Ibaked it in tartlet molds and popped them out of the molds after baking so it had nice fluted edges.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: Rebecca Burch
I just tried this and had to log in to tell you how much I enjoyed it! I've tried several polenta recipes and none were just right. This is perfect, and so easy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: meatloaf
Wow! This was very good and very easy to make. My entire family loved it. I used skim milk and low-sodium chicken broth. I poured some of the hot polenta onto a plate to eat right away and baked the rest. It was great the next day too, heated in the microwave. Thanks for sharing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 May 2010
Reviewed by: SHADOWMERV
Loved the taste and how quick and easy this was. The polenta had a cream of wheat-type texture when I poured it into the pan. It was a little runny when I first took it out of the oven but if you let it sit several minutes before cutting, it thickens up. P.S. Muir Glen's Fire Roasted Tomato pasta sauce is our family's favorite. I highly recommend it if you don't have time to make your own. Actually, it's better than my own. UPDATE: The second time I made this I decreased the milk and stock by 1/2 cup each. This turned out much better. The polenta was firm and could be cut into pieces (the longer it sits outside the oven, the firmer it gets). The parmesan flavor stood out a tad more too. I just can't get enough of this....YUM! The leftovers are just as good if not better.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: JDVMD
Loved this! Used heavy cream instead of milk and jazzed up the spaghetti sauce with some fresh garlic and chopped fresh basil.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: DinnerDiva
I've eaten polenta since I was a little girl and it was always just cornmeal cooked in water with maybe a little salt. This recipe intrigued me so I gave it a shot. I used 1 cup cream as I had it on hand and needed to use it up and didn't have milk. I used 3 C. chicken broth and only 1/2 C. shredded Asiago cheese. It was so yummy I wanted to eat it just like that and I don't usually like polenta plain. I didn't bake it because my grandmother who came from Italy (never did learn to speak English) would make polenta, pour it onto a dinner plate and smooth it out, make a little ridge around it like a pizza crush might have, and spread homemade spaghetti sauce in the middle up to the ridge with a sprinkling of Parmesan Cheese and serve it with lots of Italian Sausage cut into 2" lenghts cooked in the sauce. Heaven. This polenta would be great with just about anything over it - I plan to try roasted veggies with it. Thanks - this recipe is a keeper!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: sourdough girl
GREAT polenta! I used the sauce recipe from "Swordfish a la Siciliana" from this site to put over panfried sturgeon as well as the polenta. It's always an interesting evening meal when DH visits our favorite fishmonger! I skipped the baking step of this recipe and just served the polenta soft. This is a very easy recipe in that it thickens up nicely and has great flavor without an hour's worth of stirring! mmmmm.... comfort food! Thanks for a great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes