My Reviews (113)

Blackberry Coffee Cake

This recipe makes a delicious light blackberry cake, perfect to serve to guests with a cup of tea or coffee. Or just eat it yourself for dessert!
Reviews (113)


03 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: Kathleen M.
Very good, easy cake. I made with a few minor changes. After reading reviews, I used a 9 x 13 pan, which baked perfectly in 35 minutes. To the batter I added 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract. I reserved 1 cup of crumbs, to which I added 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon and 2 tablespoons brown sugar. I used approximately 2 cups of fresh blackberries. Everyone loved it and a great cake to use up the never-ending blackberry supply!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Jul 2001
Reviewed by: maple bear
This batter needs to be kept to a thickness of 1/2 inch in the pan prior to adding the fruit of choice and crumbs on top. You will have difficulty with it baking completely if the batter is any thicker. I use an oblong cookie sheet with an edge or jelly roll pan.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: Cardamum
We loved this. Based on other reviews, I used a 9x13 pan and then the cooking time was right on. Only slight problem with that is that I think it needs more blackberries when you use a larger pan. Mine were too spread out. Oh well, it was still delicious. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 May 2008
Reviewed by: Pamela Evans Steeley
This is a very good coffee cake. I used a 9 x 13 inch pan and baked it about 45 minutes. I like the fact that the ingredients are simple and usually on hand. I'll be making this again and experimenting with using different fruits and jams.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Mar 2002
Reviewed by: CAROLARTZ
This cake was quite good. I used a 9 inch round cake pan, and used apricot jam on top instead of the fruit called for. It took much longer for the cake to cook (at least 50 min in total) which may have been because of my substitution of the round pan. Unfortunately, because it took so much longer to cook, my company had to leave before the cake was even out of the oven! I will try this again though, with a square pan. It is really wonderful with the apricots.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: hartocute
EVEN though I made so changes ..MY family has never eaten a whole cake at my house...Here is a the changes that I made... Because I didnt have regular flour and baking pwder,I thought to myslef hmmmmmm I wonder how will self rising flour turn(since it already has a baking powder mix in it)SO instead of the flour and baking pwder I just used the 2 cup selfrising flour...And of course no more salt since its already salted!!!!!!..SO no fruits for my cake.WHAT I did instead is sprinkle alot of nesltequick strawberry pwder on top of the cake for decoration and a delicious sugary taste mmmmmmmmmmmm!!!!!!!!!!PLease try it and goodluck!!!!!!!!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: Demi
This is the best cake ever! Its my first time baking a cake...And this is so easy! I used self raising flour like one of the reviewer said...And its really delicious! If you want plain sponge cake...Just omit the fruits and crumbs
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: Sheri S.
My husband really enjoyed this coffee cake. I increased the berries to 2 cups and used a combination of blackberries and blueberries. I baked it in an 8x11.5 glass pan and cooked it for an hour.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: Kim
Excellent! This is a five star recipe! I made it for a brunch, and it worked great. You could add more berries if you wanted though.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: COOLMAMACHIK
Very good recipe and easy to make. I used a 13x9 pan like another reviewer suggested. I served the cake warm with peach ice cream and it was wonderful. I used fresh from the grower blackberries.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes