My Reviews (186)

Pineapple Cake with Cream Cheese Icing

Pineapple cake is lovely and moist and sweet, perfect for a snack with tea or coffee. This recipe has a cream cheese icing.
Reviews (186)


17 Jun 2017
Reviewed by: JessicaPatti
Terrible! an absolute disaster never cooked properly was sticky like glue. Will not make again unless I make some changes to the recipe. I noticed that most people who gave this four or five stars made alterations to the original recipe.
 
24 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: naples34102
Oddly enough, it was another Catherine who gave me this recipe more than 30 years ago...she called it "Chop Suey Cake," she guessed because it's so speedy, she said. The recipe is not misprinted--there is no oil or fat in the cake, so do not feel compelled to add it. For those who insist a cake requires fat, think of angel food cakes! This is a delicious cake, very moist, full of pineapple flavor. "My" Catherine's recipe also included a cup of chopped nuts. Thanks, Catherine, for posting this bit of nostalgia.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: Lovetocook
This cake was AWESOME. Incredibly moist and great flavor. A previous review stated a cake needs oil, which I agree, so I added 1/4 cup of vegetable oil and it turned out great. I reserved a small portion of the crushed pineapples and added it to the frosting along with coconut flakes. Everything was perfect. My family and Fiance loved it. I will make this cake again...
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: Jennifer C.
This cake is super-yummy and DOESN'T need oil or butter! It has a great chewy & moist texture and there is plenty of fat in the frosting! I cut back on the sugar by 1/4 of a cup and they did not seem too sweet - just right. These are just like they say...very easy & fast to make -tasted a little like my carrot cake recipe. I sprinkled 1/2 cup chopped pecans on top of the frosting also. Thanks! UPDATE: Do keep this in the fridge if it is not eaten right away. It tastes yummy cold too!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 May 2012
Reviewed by: lmargueriter
This could be a five with a few changes. I added 1/2 cup butter and cut the sugar in half and this cake turned out amazing. You need to have some sort of oil or fat in your cake otherwise it will turn out rubbery and the sugar will burn. I mixed the sugar with the butter and then added the egg and vanilla. I mixed the flour and the baking soda in a separate bowl and added a pinch of salt before adding the butter/egg/sugar mixture to it. I also only cooked it a half hour. For the icing i doubled the cream cheese and added 8 oz of crushed pineapple including juice and 1/3 cup shredded coconut. It turned out great!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Apr 2006
Reviewed by: M. Stoffel
This cake is fabulous!!! I can't comment on the cream cheese frosting, as I made my own, but the cake turned out wonderful. All I had was a can of sliced pineapple rings, so I crushed them by hand and drained enough juice so it was the consistancy of a can of crushed. The cake doesn't rise as much as other cakes but it looks and tastes fine, and as for those who said it was hard you must have overcooked it - this recipe yielded a very nice, moist cake that would be fine even without frosting. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: Lynn A.
Fantastic! I used unbleached flour, 20 oz can crushed pineapple w/ juice, and for good measure a stick of mealted butter. It is wonderful. I think the trick is to measure carefully & be sure to use unbleached or all purpose flour. Also watch your oven--my cake was done in 30 minutes. I'll be making this cake often!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Jun 2006
Reviewed by: Kayla
Wonderful! I didn't have crushed pineapples but rings instead.. so I crushed those up myself. I reserved about 1/4 cup of the juice, which I originally planned to add to the frosting but found that the frosting was perfect as is. Instead I brushed it over my cake with a pastry brush after baking. I found that my cake was done sooner than the recipe stated... I took it out as soon as it turned a dark brownish color on top, which scared me at first as I thought it had burned a bit but it was perfect! The cream cheese frosting & texture of the cake reminded us a lot of carrot cake. It was absolutely fabulous & will definitely make this one again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: COOKINGRANNY
My husband does not like sweets but he loves this cake I usually add a couple tsp. of cinnamon and 1 cup of chopped walnuts and then i sprinke the top with more chopped nuts it is a hit at our house every time I make it. I don't know what everyone else is doing wrong but mine comes out perfect every time thank you Cathrine
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: susannadanna
My mom always made this cake when I was a child. I didn't appreciate it until I grew a little older, because I hated nuts and cream cheese back then. This is pretty much the same recipe as she used (for the cake part, not the frosting), except she added one more teaspoon of vanilla & 1/2 cup of chopped nuts. For this cake to be really moist, the secret is using canned crushed pineapple in heavy syrup. That probably sounds like sugar overload, but trust me you won't be disappointed (especially if you have just a small piece -- everything in moderation, right?). The syrup in the pineapple makes this cake dense and delicious. She used a totally different cream cheese frosting than the one printed. Your favorite recipe will do. My 5 star rating is for the memories I had of my mother making this wonderful cake!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes