My Reviews (53)

Baked Mediterranean Fish

This is an easy way to prepare a delightfully flavourful fish fillet. If you like spicy, try sprinkling a little bit of cayenne pepper as well as the seasoning on the fish before pour the mixture over it.
Reviews (53)


28 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: naples34102
This made for a quick, delicious and satisfying lunch made with a combination of ingredients very familiar to me. Using Greek seasoning, however, was not something I've used often and I enjoyed it. Can't beat a dish that requires such little clean-up, is SO good for you and so flavorful. Other than using grouper instead of halibut (any mild flavored white fish would work) I made this with the ingredients as directed, just winging it with measurements. While I did miss the golden color that comes from grilling, roasting or sauteing, I was nevertheless very pleased with this, and since this calls for ingredients I always have in my kitchen, it's something I plan to treat myself to frequently.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 May 2010
I served it over spinach (sauteed with garlic and olive oil) and brown rice. It was restaurant quality and awesome!!!! I can't wait to make again, this time for guests!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: Jennifer
I made this the other night without thoroughly reading the recipe and just layered the ingredients instead of mixing them together first and it was fabulous. The onion and tomato were chopped in fairly large pieces and the presentation was gorgeous. My guests were very impressed and it was so easy! Thank you mleiland!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 May 2011
Reviewed by: bbonzai
Okay I know people get annoyed when you change up a recipe too much, but this came out really spectacularly so I thought I'd share. I used half an onion rather than whole, and sauteed the onions and olives in about 3 or 4 Tbsp olive oil on medium heat until onions were mellow and brown. Added a basil leaf and some chopped fresh lemon thyme because I had some from the farmers' market and have no idea what to do with it. I also added about a teaspoon of dried oregano. I added three cloves smashed garlic, the chopped tomato, one can artichoke hearts, chopped, capers and about 2 Tbsp tomato paste - again because I had some sitting in the fridge. Covered the whole deal and simmered on the stovetop, stirring occasionally for about 10 minutes more. I greased a pyrex pan generously with olive oil, placed the halibut in, rubbed with salt and pepper and poured the lemon juice directly on the fish, and then poured the pan sautee mixture over everything, and baked until done. Served over sauteed spinach with a side of rice. Yum.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: DianeTampa
This is an excellent recipe! My Greek Yiayia would make it often, served with rice pilaf and lemon wedges. Don't forget the feta, sliced cukes and crusty bread.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 May 2010
Reviewed by: Jo Steinberg
This dish looks like a picture! Very impressive and tastes great.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: ChristineM
Loved it! I used halibut, and the only change I would have made would be to maybe go a little lighter on the capers next time - I did rinse them first, but they seemed a bit too prevalent for my tastes. Could just be me though, so this still gets five stars! Love cooking fish in foil pouches - it stays so moist and the flavors of the other ingredients are absorbed nicely. I'll be making this one again for sure! Thanks, mleiland!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: outdoorwonder
Very good dish. Veggies on top were scrumptious too. Was a great change for a fish dish. I made it as the recipe described except for the kalamata olives were omitted. Was still great. Kids ate it up too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: ADClark
I made this dinner for my boyfriend and it was a huge hit. He said it was the best halibut he had ever had. I will be making this again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: ERICA2283
This was delicious! So easy, minimal prepping, and just perfect for a nice dinner after a long day at work! Thank you
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes