My Reviews (722)

Hot Roast Beef Rolls with Beef Consomme

"French dip" is an American way of serving hot beef rolls. Each diner has a cup of hot beef consomme to dip their roll into. It's a delicious winter meal.
Reviews (722)


23 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: Connie
I served these sandwiches for dinner and they were really simple to put together and tasted really great. However, I did change the recipe a bit. I used a can of French onion soup, 1/2 can of water, and a can of beef broth for the liquid, and sauteed some sliced mushrooms and onions to add as toppers before the provolone. I also added some horseradish sauce to my sandwich after it was heated. Everyone else just used the dipping sauce. But we all thought they were amazing. We'll definitely have these again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: JTWTECH
I'm glad I found this recipe. It's simple and delicious. I added garlic powder, onion powder and black pepper to the au jus.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 May 2011
Reviewed by: Joydee Mccorkle
Very easy. I've used consomme forever due to it's weight & flavor. However, absolutely NOT a fan of deli roast beef b/c it does not even resemb le real roast beef in flavor. I take a 4 lb.boneless beef roast from the freezer, place it in a 500 degree oven for 30-45 mins. Turn oven down to 250 and roast UNcoveredfor 6 hrs. The finished product is fantastic & the drippings must be moistened, stirred up & added to the consomme. This is the only way to eat roast beef in our family.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: Brie
Excellent recipe. I added garlic butter to the bun before broiling---yum!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: maegena
I have made this recipe for years and it is always a crowd pleaser! I love that it's so quick and easy to make and it's really good. I always take just a couple extra minutes and saute some thinly sliced onions and sliced mushrooms. I add the onions and mushrooms on top of the roast beef and then layer my cheese. The onions and mushrooms make it extra yummy, but the recipe is still 5 stars as is!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: jtalneyneedham
Very good, very easy. I used jack cheese because I didn't have provolone and it was just as good (I've made this recipe several times using provolone). Kids love it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: dfalcone
This recipe is delish! My husband was so excited to eat a french dip at home (instead of a restaurant) and I loved that it was so easy. We used ciabatta rolls. It has been added to the dinner rotation. ( :
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 May 2011
Reviewed by: Glynda
This is a VERY easy and delicious recipe. I actually made it using French Onion Soup rather than the beef consomme and it really gave the roast beef flavor. Toasting the hoagie buns is important! Overall AWESOME quick meal.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: kim14410
This was such a great recipe! I sauted some onions in a tbsp of butter first and cooked those down, and then added the beef consomme and a cup of water with 1 bouillon cube. Was a total hit in my house and I have a person in my household that enjoys really good food.!!!! Def a keeper!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: bollysgirl
If your hoagie buns are mushie, I recommend you try a baguette. Slice it to preferred length and dip away. It holds up great.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes