My Reviews (722)

Hot Roast Beef Rolls with Beef Consomme

"French dip" is an American way of serving hot beef rolls. Each diner has a cup of hot beef consomme to dip their roll into. It's a delicious winter meal.
Reviews (722)


07 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: LadyBird
So awesome! I did not know that consomme was so I just bought beef broth. Before I made the recipe I looked it up and realized it is a strong broth so I just added 3 beef bullion cubes to the broth before adding the roast beef. It was so great. Everyone in my family gobbled it up. My husband preferred cheddar and and mustard so it was easy to change it up before putting in the oven.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: Jillian
It does't get much easier than this! Plus, it tastes really good! All I added to the "au jus" was a 1 tsp. of minced garlic, and a 1/2 tsp. of rosemary. I also sauteed a large onion sliced into 1/2 inch rings. I used swiss cheese instead of provolone (personal preference). These were some "Easiest" French Dip sanwiches ever!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 May 2008
Reviewed by: Sara Weiershauser
This was awesome! I just au jus (in the packet) and it came out great. I added some garlic and onion salt to the juice. I also added garlic salt on top of the sandwiches before cooking. This was quick and simple and we loved it, thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Aug 2008
Reviewed by: Paul
This is a GREAT sandwich. I am the chief cook on our shift at the fire department and the guys are always looking for something different. These sandwiches along with homemade french onion soup rocks! Thanks for the great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: MindyMaxwell
I made this for my son and I tonight. He said this is better than Arby's! I did make a few changes. I added onion powder, garlic powder, and pepper to the beef broth like others did. I sauteed green bell pepper, onion and mushroom to add to sandwich under the provolone. Gotta get them veggies in! I am still trying to find the bread that will hold up to the juice as the hoagie turns too mushy, maybe toasting it as others have done will make the difference. I'll try that next time. I have found that the sandwich turns out best with good quality meat from the deli. This is a keeper for my family as we can customize to individual tastes, quick to prepare and yummy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Aug 2008
Reviewed by: emilymarie
My husband and I really really enjoyed these and they were exactly what we were looking for in a french dip. As per others suggestions, I sauteed onions and mushrooms and put them on too. I will definately be making these again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: GRANNYLOOHOO
These were so good and so easy! I had leftover roast beef and beef broth in the freezer, homemade rosemary bread, and provolone. I added a little rosemary to the broth, and it was perfect. My family loved it! Thanks for a great idea,writergirl.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: MICHELERBSN
This was a very easy and delicious recipe. My husband and very picky teenager loved it! I substituted the beef consomme for 1 can of beef broth and no water and got wonderful results!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: Suemck
Perfect for a quick Sunday night dinner with some fries. Very tasty and you can't find a much easier recipe. I'm sure I'll be making these again, thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Sep 2007
Reviewed by: Lucy
Couldnt be any easier, inexpensive or yummy! This is extrememly basic. Even the worst cook will succeed with the great tasting recipe. Thanks for the share.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes