My Reviews (268)

Versatile Chocolate Glaze

This simple chocolate glaze has a variety of uses - for icing cakes or serving over ice cream or your favourite dessert. It can be refrigerated and reheated.
Reviews (268)


18 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: naples34102
I unexpectedly decided to glaze a cake I had made to dress it up. I really wanted a chocolate ganache, but found I had no heavy cream--and then I remembered this recipe. In just a few minutes I had the most luxurious, fudgey icing, almost like a hot fudge sauce. This recipe saved my cake!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: t
Awsome! I used White Chocolate instead of Milk Chocolate Chips. It melted beautifully and was delicious over a devils food chocolate bundt cake.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Jun 2006
Reviewed by: LINDA MCLEAN
Tuni, Tuni, Tuni, what more can I say? This was FABULOUS!! Used this to glaze my daughter Ashley's icecream birthday cake today and I'm still scoopin' up what fell to the plate!!!! I swear, I didn't even eat the cake; only your glaze. The kids and hubby were rolling their eyes and watching me as I was "mmmmmmmmmmmmming" over this as they were all munching on the cake. For all who are interested, I have a big problem melting chocolate. Sometimes it comes out just fine, but other times, it gets all dry and clumpy. Don't get it because I've done the microwave method and the double boiler. This was amazing because with the addition of the condensed milk it came out perfectly! No fuss, no muss. Family commends you because they know what I go thru and they loved it. Thank you so much darlin'!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: raracat
Quick, easy and very chocolatey! Would take flavorings (almond, orange, etc) well. Used to top a bundt cake. The glaze does set, but not hard and crackly - it's still soft just not sticky.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: GRANNYLOOHOO
I would never have guessed that such a simple sauce could make an excellent icing without butter. The flavor rivals any powdered sugar icing I've made and sets up beautifully. I added another 1/2 cup of chocolate chips and used 1 T of butterscotch schnappes in place of the vanilla. Excellent recipe Tunisianswife!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Feb 2012
Reviewed by: Peggy
I made this glaze yesterday for my chocolate bunt cake. Yes, it is easy, yes, it tastes OK (nothing special). This recipe makes enough "glaze" for 4 bunt cakes, I cut it in half and it was enough to frost/coat the entire cake (too much to be applied as a glaze). When it sets up on the cake it turns dull and blah looking it isn't pretty like I prefer on my cakes, after all we eat with our eyes. I will not make it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: meremac
This was incredible. Very easy to make and absolutely delicious. I used it to glaze an amaretto chocolate cake, so I used 1/2 tsp of vanilla and a 1/2 tsp of almond extract in the glaze (instead of the 1 tsp of vanilla that the recipe called for), and I sprinkled some toasted almonds over the glaze. Huge hit!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: KRICKYR
Quick, easy, and sweet. This same recipe is one I use as a filling in a bar cookie, but I never thought to use it on its own. I've also used this as a filling between chocolate layered cake, which was divine. One negative as a glaze--using a can of expensive sweetened condensed milk, when there are other glaze recipes out there that cost much less to make.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 May 2006
Reviewed by: Aidensmom
This glaze was delicious on my chocolate bundt cake.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES
This was scrumptious. I used it on a Vanilla pound cake and it was beautiful as well as delicious! Thanks for a great and very easy recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes