My Reviews (51)

White Lamb Cake for Easter

If your family has the tradition of baking a lamb cake in a mould for Easter, here's a great recipe for white cake rather than chocolate.
Reviews (51)


29 Mar 2017
Reviewed by: sony123
could you please tell me where i could get this lamb cake mould in Australia. iam having trouble finding any. thankyou
 
15 Apr 2006
Reviewed by: cookie22
I have had my grandmother's lamb pan for over 30 years and have yet to find a recipe that held it's shape and tasted good - UNTIL NOW! Thanks for this wonderful recipe that is now a family favorite. It holds it's shape, comes out of the pan well and looks pretty frosted or unfrosted. I added some lemon extract to mine.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: Elizabeth M.
I am so happy to see that other families have this tradition! In my family, we've nicknamed it "Lambie cake" and we've had the molds forever...! We always do a chocolate cake, but I'm excited to try a white cake (especially for my grandma who can no longer eat chocolate) this year. Our traditional way of decorating includes white frosting with coconut for fleece, and sit the lamb in a bed of bright spring green-tinted coconut grass surrounded by jelly beans and chocolate foiled eggs. It looks so adorable! We also use jelly beans for the eyes and nose. Tradition: half of a black jellybean for each eye and half of a pink jellybean for the nose. Black works fine for the nose too. When I was little my mom would also add a flower made of icing or hardened sugar, with or without a slim, pretty ribbon, around the little lamb's neck.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Mar 2002
Reviewed by: Cheryl Wisniewski
This recipe was really easy and tasty. It baked in the mold perfectly with no problems. It came out of the mold fine. I frosted it using a pastry bag. Frosting it took about 5 minutes!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: Lia
The best recipe I've tried with my old cast iron lamb mold. It's a firm cake that holds up well. The only modifications I made were 1) I used Baker's Joy cooking spray to "grease & flour" the mold and 2) I flavored the batter with a couple of Tblsp. of finely grated lemon zest. Came out great --Grandma would be proud!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: Sophie R.
Great! I've been looking everywhere for a good recipe for my new lamb cake tin, and this one worked really well. I made my lamb ginger flavoured with some ground ginger. The cake is firm enough to stand upright and not droop or break, and very well defined. I could decorate it with icing but it looks really very pretty without it. My family are most impressed!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: Brenda in NJ
This recipe is very similar to the one that came with our Lamb "heavy formed aluminum" cake pan from the 1960s. It is perfect for that mold, which is 7 3/4" by 11 1/2", by Nordic Ware. I highly recommend the 7 minute frosting for this cake as its brittle, sugary sweetness is the perfect complement. Put coconut on the frosted cake and color some green to go around the base as grass. Don't forget the jelly bean nose and eyes (use just a 1/2 jelly bean for each eye). To make it look more like a lamb and less like a dog, you can put a ribbon or some flowers around the neck. Also keep the coconut off the head so it stays more delicate looking.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: Batgirl
This cake tastes wonderful. Next time I will be more careful with greasing the pan - my cake did stick a bit. I added a little coconut extract (1/4 to 1/2 tsp) along with 3/4 tsp vanilla extract to the cake batter and I think it gave the cake a nice flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: AngelaMarie85
I made this cake yesterday and it turned out great! I used the aluminum lamb mold and an electric oven at 375 for 55 minutes. Had some batter leftover, enough for a couple of cupcakes. Don't skimp on greasing the pan. Mine came out almost perfect, but cracked a little. The cake tasted great--springy and not too sweet. We don't like coconut, so I made an almond buttercream and decorated the cake with a star tip, a jellybean cut in half for the eyes and pink icing for the ears, nose and mouth that I used a writing tip for. A lemon buttercream would also go great with this cake. My family really loved this recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: LouisianaLady
Made this cake for Easter this year. Very good flavor. Not too sweet, but just sweet enough and the middle cooked as well as the outside. Held it's shape from the mold very nicely. Will make again for sure.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes