My Reviews (59)

Beef and Pork Lasagne

The best lasagne is a combination of beef mince and Italian sausage. This is a very rich and satisifying meal, perfect for cold winter nights.
Reviews (59)


07 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: WATRQ
It's okay, but COTTAGE CHEESE???? I knew I should have just used the ricotta, but I wanted to try it first as is. Next time--- RICOTTA. Now that it's so available I don't know why anyone would use cottage cheese in lasagne.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: MommyFromSeattle
Very good. I add one 10oz. box of frozen chopped spinach with the meat mixture for more nutrition. Good way sneak in something green Moms. **Tip** for all Lasagna makers - no need to wash another pot to boil noodles. Soak raw, hard noodles in a large bowl of hot tap or boiling water for 30 min. Then layer as usual. Noodles won't be cooked, but will complete it's cooking in the oven.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: Madame.D
Great tasting lasagne! This recipe requires a little preparation, but it is certainly worth it. I chose to use chicken instead of beef and it wasn't a problem. Using many different cheeses makes the lasagna tick! Perhaps adding a tad more sugar to the tomato mix would be nice, for the tomato paste is quite concentrated. Also, I would recommend putting something (an egg, more cheese, tomato sauce, etc.) on the top layer of lasagna noodles so that they won't be burnt. Mmmmm.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: LKONIS
I have been using this recipe since 2004 with great success. I use Rao's marinara sauce and substitute half the cottage cheese with whole milk Ricotta. I use oven ready lasagna noodles dipped in boiling water for a few seconds. Finally, I use a combination of resh and regular mozzarella. Top of with marinara. These modifications have put this very good recipe over the top. Don't cheap out on the ingredients.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Jul 2002
Reviewed by: SCREWLEWSE
I have recieved rave reviews from friends that come and try this dish! Some have gone as far to say it is the best lasagne they have eaten. I really love it, but I do add one or two things from the origional recipe. I add chopped zucchini and mushrooms to two of the layers. I also use mozerrella more than I use parmesan cheeze. I have found this to make it even better for me. Great Recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: CLSnodgrass86
This recipe was pretty amazing and is the first time I made lasagna. It turned out really well but I did not use cottage cheese. I used ricotta. I also recommend making a little more sauce if you like it saucy! I also only had to bake mine for 45 minutes and it was ready. Any longer and it would have been really dry. I only had to use about 6 noodles so dont boil the whole box.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: HARRYMARTINII
Great recipe -- gets lots of compliments. OK, I cheated and just used spaghetti sauce, but it's still great. Not over-tomatoey, like a lot lasagna. I cut recipe in half, and still need 9 lasagna noodles -- just trim them for an 7X7 square baking dish. Oh, and used ricotta too instead of cottage cheese. This is *the* keeper of lasgana recipes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: preciousme
I only cook about 3 times a year and tried this recipe for my boyfriend's kids who are extremely picky. Aside from that their family is full blooded Italian and they are used to their Nannie's cooking. The kids later told their aunts it was the best lasagna ever and begged me to make it again. I replaced the cottage cheese with ricotta...and used lavender salt in the meat. I also made the meat mixture the day ahead to let all the spices come to know each other.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: piecookiemaker
i folllowed the directions exactly and found something was missing. and the flavor was not there.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Aug 2002
Reviewed by: KTCHN6
My husband loved this recipe and I really liked it, but I like a more "saucy" lasagne, so I tried to increase the tomato ingredients by 50%. It didn't make it that much saucier and hubby didn't like it. Oh well, the recipe is still really good as is! I will definitely be making this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes