My Reviews (22)

Cumquat Compote

Cumquats are entirely edible when ripe, rind and all. This is a delicious compote that makes a special addition to pancakes, french toast, trifles, or even topped on ice cream.
Reviews (22)


Comment:
29 Sep 2008
LAWRAG said:
Something else. This was a great recipe. I sliced the cumquats and added two teaspoons of cherry brandy. After draining it, I used the 'juice' to prepare cranberry sauce.
 
04 May 2013
Reviewed by: gingerjam
I added extra cup of sugar to the syrup, boiled it up for 15 mins and got cumquat jelly.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: MICHELLE M. SLAVEN
This made a great side dish. I also saved the syrup I poured off and it makes a nice drink in sparkling water. If you like things very sweet you will want to add more sugar.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: LAMB2LOVE
I prefer plain, fresh cumquats to these cooked ones, but the syrup they were cooked in was pretty good.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: LINDA MCLEAN
I think it tasted pretty good. I didn't like the cumquats raw because they were too sour but the sugar certainly helps. I think you could probably use this as a breakfast topping for waffles or pancakes.
 
14 May 2010
Reviewed by: JARRIE
This is the best recipe you aren't eating. I bought some kumquats on a whim and got them home, tried to eat one, and OMGYUCK. Like biting a lemon. So I decided to see what else could be done, and found this recipe. I cut them in half & de-seeded them; it doesn't specifically say to do that but I thought the description seemed to bear this idea out. I didn't drain mine at the end, and the sauce, as it cools, gels into ...well, jelly. The flavor can best be described as orange marmalade. We ate it over slices of pound cake, and I thought it was a great recipe! Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: CYN
This made agreat side dish. I also saved the syrup I poured off and it makes a nice drink in club soda (like an Italian soda).If you like things very sweet you will want to ad more sugar.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: HANNA
This was a great recipe. I sliced the kumquats and added two teaspoons of cherry wine. After draining it, I used the 'juice' to prepare cranberry sauce.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: jestr349
I didn't weigh my Kumquats before I cooked them, but I made this recipes with one pint of kumquats, 1/4 c. sugar and 4 dashes of cinnamon. I think it tasted pretty good. I didn't like they kumquats raw because they were too sour but the sugar certainly helps. I think you could probably use this as a breakfast topping for waffles.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: Molly
What an interesting way to prepare kumquats. I LOVE this fruit and all the tartness that comes with each bite. I made this recipe as written but when they finished cooking I saved half to eat like the recipe suggest and the other half I blended up with my hand-held blender to use as a jam. For me personally, the next time I will add less sugar because now they are very sweet and as I mentioned above the tartness is what I love about them. I saved the liquid that was drained off and added some of it to a smoothie and used the rest in place of the cold water when I made jello. Nothing wasted! I really like this recipe and will try it again. Thanks for sharing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes