My Reviews (43)

Baked and Fried Potatoes

The secret to having crispy fried potatoes is to use pre-cooked potatoes. You can also make this with leftover baked potatoes from the night before.
Reviews (43)


28 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: DEBORAHARV614
This is almost identical to my mothers recipe, the only real difference is that she adds a little onion powder. Mom boils the potatoes "with their jackets on" the day before and then uses a large dice instead of slices... Super delicious!! Thanks for the recipe
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Jun 2012
Reviewed by: Sarah Jo
I cooked these home fries in my cast iron skillet. I actually added two tablespoons of bacon grease to the skillet with the butter when I sauteed the onion as well as a good amount of fresh minced garlic. I sprinkled the potatoes with Johnny's Seasoning Salt instead of plain salt. The boys flipped over these home fries. I served them with "Egg Flipped Over" and homemade vanilla-glazed chocolate doughnuts. The great thing about home fries is a) they're really hard to mess up, b) they almost always make for a heartier breakfast, which is key when you're feeding a husband and two growing boys and c) you can totally make them personal to your family.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: slwpk82
Wow -- just saw this same "type" of recipe featured on PBS 'Breakfast Special" and they showed a restaurant in Westerville Ohio I believe it was called Best Sandwiches (?) and the owner said the secret to the home fries is to put bacon drippings on them...made the difference!! thanks for sharing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: Holiday Baker
I have done this many times with left over potatoes. For true diner type potatoes I would also add color and flavor with a pinch or two of paprika or season salt and garlic powder. And, half the butter can be subtituted for half oil for an even crispier hashbrown.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: ALECONE
Similar to how I grew up eating them~but we used bacon drippings instead of butter. The key, I think , is a perfectly seasoned cast iron pan. Nothing healthy about this recipe but they are good!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: michele
thanks so much. this is the best "secret" to know i have now gotten so many raves at brunches. hubby always asks if i am "baking extra" when i do potatoes now. i season them with a variety of spices or herbs depending on what they're to go with. i've also done fresh grated parm cheese, and one fine leftover day we used them to make chili cheese fries: stellar.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: Tasha
Exactly what I was looking for. I had leftover baked potatoes that I wanted to use up. I did add a sprinkle of garlic powder.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: D.E.
Delicious! Easy to prepare. Good, nourishing, home-style cooking. Like several of the others, we used bacon fat saved from cooking bacon. We sliced the potatoes a bit thicker too, works either way. We also made a MAYONNAISE-SOUR CREAM-RANCH DRESSING-GARLIC SAUCE TO PUT ON TOP OF POTATOES AND TO DIP ACCOMPANYING SAUSAGES IN. I CAN'T SAY ENOUGH ABOUT THESE DELICIOUS POTATOES.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: WickedCreations
This is the closest to diner style. I made this for my daughter and she loved it. Will make it again for sure!! TY
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Jul 2012
Reviewed by: MsVal
Good basic recipe. Whenever I make baked potatoes I always bake a couple of extra potatoes so we can have Home Fries the next day. If you enjoy them extra crispy, like me, add some shortening to the skillet. "Bacon grease" is a must if you've made bacon, too. Use a combo of any BG, shortening and butter and you can't go wrong. (I don't use vegetable oil, as it tends to make the potatoes bland and "heavy" tasting.)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes