My Reviews (72)

Spicy Slow Cooker Beef Stew

Slow cookers make stews very easy. Just remember that every time you lift the lid of the slow cooker you increase the cooking time by 20 minutes!
Reviews (72)


18 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: memphis
I love this recipe! Feeds a house full of hungry men. I usually add extra beef carrots and potatoes. But other than that I wouldn't change anything. Also good with bread bowls
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: loves2cook
Loved it! I'm pretty sure you need to double the recipe though. The way it is written will not feed six.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: Lori
I'm bummed that I wasted the ingredients because it doesn't taste good. Next time I'll make my regular beef stew - it has a much better flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: BEADSFORLIFE
Oh my gosh! This is the BEST beef stew I have ever made. I was one recipe away from never making beef stew again and I decided to try this one! I finally found a recipe I love! The only thing I did different was no rosemary (out) and no potatoes (out of these too!), but I didn't add anything or do anything else different. Absolutely fabulous! Thank you!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: gatlin91
This stew was delicious and so easy. I used tiger sauce in place of the worcestershire and it added a great touch. Reviews are right...it won't feed four as is.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: Kaspar
This was easy and very tasty. I left out the onion as my wife and I arn't onion eaters. I also added a can of whole corn kernals right at the end of the cookining time. And I used beef broth instead of water and a beef bouillon cube, I'm guessing they have the same effect. All in all a very delicious meal.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: mackstyle
This was great but I recommend doubling the quantity to feed 6 of us!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: Libby
Thanks for a simple and delicious recipe. My family didn't find the rosemary and thyme overpowering at all. I couldn't use the onion due to allergies, but the stew was very flavorful without it. I took the suggestions of others and doubled the recipe, this fed our family of four comfortably with a little left over for lunch the following day. As with all soups and stews it was even better the second day. I added a cup and a half of frozen peas, preheated in the microwave, and used prepared bouillon instead of a cube and water. As others suggested, it was more a soup than a stew so I also thickened it during the last few minutes of cooking. I will definitely make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: Joseph
This was an awesome recipe. My Parents have never had slow cooker style stew, and they came back for seconds! Since we're not big on wine, we omitted it, and it still came out great! We just substituted more beef broth. Definitely a keeper!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Dec 2012
Reviewed by: Deb C
This is a wonderful stew with rich flavor. Everyone loved it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes