My Reviews (72)

Spicy Slow Cooker Beef Stew

Slow cookers make stews very easy. Just remember that every time you lift the lid of the slow cooker you increase the cooking time by 20 minutes!
Reviews (72)


08 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: oldcook
I made this recipe yesterday, starting it before work and coming home to the most wonderful aroma. (I just love slow cookers!). I used a homeade vegetable stock I had on hand instead of boullion and adjusted the water accordingly. I too did not change anything else because it looked good to me on paper and I'm happy to report that it turned just wonderful. The meat was so tender and the flavor was great. For my own preference I took a bit of liquid out just before serving and whisked in a bit of flour till it was smooth and then poured it back into the cooker for about 20 minutes to thicken is up a bit. I prefer a thicker "stew". This was so tasty and just what I needed after a long day. I highly recommend :-)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: cakebake
My husband and his mom loved this recipe. We followed the directions to a T. My husband generally doesn't eat red meat so I was very happy he enjoyed this. I personally like a lot of flavors so I was happy with the seasoning and probably won't change that. To the reviewer below though, it's red wine, not red wine vinegar. That probably would taste really bad in a slow cooker. Great recipe overall. Thank you
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: MONKEYHANGTIME
This was easy and very good! Don't let the description that says a LOT of onion scare you...it is not at all overpowering. The only thing I expected to be different was the consistency...I thought it would be Thicker so maybe next time I can remedy that by adding less liquid. Ate it over cornbread and was very tasty and filling.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: JENBOYETT
My family did not like this at all. I took a few cues from other reviews and cut the rosemary and thyme in half. The red wine vinegar over powered all other spices.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: Vicki W
This was probably the best beef stew I've made in a while if not ever. Both my husband and I enjoyed it but, as a previous reviewer said, I don't think this recipe will feed 6 people. I will definately make this again but next time I'll add mushrooms and a few more vegetables. Also, a couple of Tbsps of quick-cooking tapioca will thicken the sauce while it cooks (a tip I learned from the booklet that came with my crock pot).
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: Laurie C
I MADE IT AS WRITTEN, and it was good. Next time I will add more wine. It will NOT feed as many people as it says. I made it scaled for 6 servings, and it barely fed my husband, two kids (ages 2 and 5) and me. I didn't think the rosemary was overpowering at all either. I will make this again with the addition of more wine, but will scale it for more people.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Mar 2014
Reviewed by: paul
Double the flour when coating the meat. After removing meat and adding onions, sprinkle remaining flour over them. Brown onions and put meat back in pot. Add 3-4 tbs of tomato paste, tossing all to coat. This gives a rich coating and adds another taste dimension and also helps thicken the stew
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: HEATHERHIPPO
We really liked this stew; my husband especially loved it and said it was one of the best beef stews he's ever eaten. I did make a few changes. I didn't put any wine in, and the second time I made I used half the thyme the recipe called for. The first time I made it we all thought the thyme flavor was a bit overpowering, so we liked it better with less. Still, a five star recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: Boysmom
This was very good. Easy to prepare and tasty. I left out the Wocestershire (only because I didn't have any) and it was still god. Next time I might add some mushrooms.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: What a Dish!
This was great! I really enjoyed it, and it was easy to put together. I needed this for lunch, so I made it at 10pm and let it cook overnight on low. I didn't pre-cook the beef or onions. I omitted the wine but used a splash of red wine vinegar. I also used a can of beef broth instead of boullion, and added lots more carrots and some fresh green beans. Also added a fresh garlic clove. About 1.5 hours before we ate, I thickened it with a flour/water paste (twice) because it was more soup-like than stew like. I know I made a lot of changes, but this is still a 5-star recipe because it lends itself very well to changes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes