My Reviews (12)

Egg Free Coffee and Raisin Cake

This is a very simple and delicious cake recipe that uses no eggs or milk. The secret is poaching the raisins in coffee, sugar and spices.
Reviews (12)


21 Jan 2002
Reviewed by: WORTH
I wouldn't have believed it if I hadn't tried it. Rich, moist, and so light! I added an extra 1/2 cup raisins and used 3/4 c. white sugar and 3/4 c. brown sugar. Finished by sprinkling confectioner's sugar over the cooled cake. A tip to cool the coffee mixture: partially fill sink with cold water; set pan in and stir until mixture cools (which it does quickly!) I also baked the cake in a pyrex 9 x 13 pan; it was done to a "T" after 40 minutes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: METROPHOBIA
Now I know why this is called Depression Cake -- it tastes awful! There is too much baking soda and not enough sugar. I won't be making this again, but if you're out of eggs and are going to try it, at least double the sugar and use 2 tsp of baking powder and 1 tsp baking soda (instead of vice versa as stated in the recipe).
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: rre
WOW, first time go-i made this with the depression era corn and my guys actually loved a full night of depression next time im going to use brown sugar, i served it fresh out of the oven with chocolate ice cream on top, very easy to make and im a bad cook
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Jun 2002
Reviewed by: Anu
Wonderful taste, though it refused to get out of the pan! I cut this cake into brownie-like pieces and removed them individually from the pan... made for a messy job, but I didn't mind... all the more crumbs to pick at! :-) Next time I'll use less sugar and raisins, and probably omit the allspice, because I prefer a more intense coffee flavour, and I found this to be rather sweet! Nevertheless, great recipe, and I WILL be making this again! Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Oct 2001
Reviewed by: KYMBERAND
Delicious, and so easy! I added a cinnamon glaze to the top because the top was dry the next day, but it didn't really need the extra flavour - and inside was still very moist
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Aug 2000
Reviewed by: VENITRA
This cake hit the spot when I wanted something sweet but didn't have any eggs in the house. I can't believe how light, fluffy, and moist it turned out. It did take a long time for the coffee mixture to get to room temperature, but that's probably because I baked this cake on a very hot summer day. I think that this recipe would be a good one for people who don't bake to try, since it turned out fantastic even in my quirky oven!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
Comment:
10 Feb 2011
Scrammy88 said:
Made it healthier. 30 teaspoons of sweetener instead of sugar
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
06 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: CLAUDIABATES
My revisions, 1/2 cup of molassas and substitute currants for the raisens. Also, doubled up on the sugar. I kept my eye closely on this, as another commentor stated it was hard to get out of the pan. However, the molassas seems to slow down the process, and it took a full hour to bake to done. Worth the wait, and then some! Out of this world, chewy, rich and delicious.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: KELLY8023
I'm afraid I have to agree with the last reviewer as to why this is called "depression cake". I ate one slice of this cake and threw the rest away - talk about depressing! The flavour wasn't bad but the texture was brutal, it was very dry and tough. I can't see myself making this one again without some major changes, although I wouldn't even know where to begin. Sorry!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Mar 2019
Reviewed by: Emi
I substituted butter for 4oz applesauce and 1/4tsp vegetable oil. Also used 1/2c sugar, 1/4c Splenda, and 3/4c sugar in the raw (I wanted to use all Splenda, but I'm too cheap and my store was out of the generic kind). At the 1/2 way mark, I tented the edges with foil to prevent burning while the center finished. Cake comes out dense and chewy but great!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes