My Reviews (39)

Chocolate Marshmallow Bars

This recipe makes delicious and decadent bars with a biscuity base and a top layer made up of rice bubbles, peanut butter and marshmallows.
Reviews (39)


01 Nov 2009
Reviewed by: MommaOfTwins09
YUMM!!! Not to be eaten right out of the oven, but the next day, WHAT!!!! This was awesome, thank you!! All my neighbors loved it too!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: toodlebutt
The PERFECT melding of our favorites: scotcharoos, smores & cakes/brownies. Some refer the bottom as a cookie, but we'd rate it somewhere between a dense cake & a soft brownie, less rich than a normal cake/brownie. I LOVED the mix of textures & flavors; the crunchy cereal topping was rich but paired with the not-too-sweet, soft-yet-not-too-soft bottom was perfect, then add the gooey of the mallows...yummy! I used the 10x15 pan lined with foil & sprayed w/ cooking spray. Made it SO simple. Haven't made in the 9x13 pan, but I think the jelly roll pan made the perfect layer, much thicker & I think it'd be too much per bar. I cut it into 1"x2" rectangles (made for a lot of bars.) I kept them & served them out of the refrigerator so they weren't so messy for my toddlers. But, beware, the bars are best for only for a day or two. Everyone loves them! They're so different from the ordinary bar, yet have traces of ones people love (scotcharoos/crispy bars/etc) I plan on taking a platter to my girls' school for Teacher Appreciation Day.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: HONKADONKA
The kids loved these. The bottom is like a cakey brownie.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Dec 2004
Reviewed by: Shelly
Very rich and delicious! If you use a 9" by 13" pan, you need to bake it a little longer or the cake part won't be done enough. But they are thicker (and in my opinion better!) this way!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Jun 2004
Reviewed by: Pam Petrie Cable
My family loves these bars. I use a jelly roll pan and actually have to bake the bottom cake layer a little longer than the stated 15-18 minutes (my pan is insulated, though). Next time I will try using marshmallow creme, as the marshmallow layer is hard to spread.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Oct 2018
Reviewed by: lesliebrooke
I used a 9x13 also. Added 4 minutes to the bake time. Also added an additional cup and a half of Rice Krispie. So good!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Jun 2018
Reviewed by: MJ Gillen
Turned out delicious, easy to follow directions. warning....very addicting
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Jul 2016
I cut this recipe in 1/2 to try. I used Kellogg's Special K and put the cereal in a plastic bag and used a rolling pin to break it up. This recipe comes out a little odd. The "thin cookie" layer is chewy cake. The marshmallows were fine. The topping...not enough to cover the whole top. ill tinker and try it again
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Jun 2016
Reviewed by: Jennifer
Probably won't make this again. The cooking time was waaay off, and the directions weren't clear on this. I used a 13x9 dish, and it puffs up a lot as it cooks. The middle was still liquidy at 20 minutes, but I added the marshmallows at that point as instructed. I should have waited for it to come out clean with a toothpick, though; it took almost an hour to get to that point, but because I had already added the marshmallows they essentially melted and became one with the base layer(at least those that hadn't spilled over the edge and into my stove). I cut the rice crispies back to 1 cup, because there was little room left because of the rising of the base. Overall, it was just okay. Very sweet and sticky. The top is tacky unless it's refrigerated.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Dec 2015
Reviewed by: Jannellg
Super yummy! Turned out exactly as pictured.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes